Bravo and Brio Now Offering “Gluten-Friendly” Menus - Celiac Disease
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

Apr 23 2012

Bravo and Brio Now Offering “Gluten-Friendly” Menus

While I have heard reports of people eating gluten-free at Bravo and Brio in the past, I don’t believe there was any sort of gluten-free menu in place.  Now both Bravo and Brio have “Gluten-Friendly” menus to help serve those with Celiac Disease or those following the gluten-free diet.

The menus at both locations are similar, but offer a nice variety of choices.  Several salads, pastas and entrees are listed to choose from, including a vegetarian pasta for those who don’t eat meat.  I have had the salmon griglia salad at Brio and it is one of my favorite restaurant salads.  There are no desserts listed on the gluten-free menu, however crème brulee is on the regular menu.  Crème brulee is naturally gluten-free, but could be contaminated due to procedure or added ingredients. 

As with any gluten-free dining out experience, make sure the staff is aware of your needs.  Ask questions about how the food is kept safe from cross-contamination.  Are separate utensils used?  What about pasta water – are there dedicated pots for gluten-free pasta?  While all of this sounds silly to ask a restaurant offering a “Gluten-Friendly” menu, it is necessary.  With large corporations implementing gluten-free menus, training is the key to successful execution.  It only takes one staff member to not know what is involved in making or serving gluten-free food to contaminate it. 

Bravo and Brio both have locations across the United States.  Have you successfully dined gluten-free at Bravo or Brio?  What was your experience like?

Article Written by:

Kimberly Bouldin is a gluten-free wife, runner & blogger with two children in Columbus, Ohio. After her celiac diagnosis in 2006, she has made it her mission to embrace an entirely new approach to nutrition in a gluten-free world, exploring options that run the gamut from "made from scratch" homemade bread to sampling and reviewing the gluten-free prepared foods that are continuously being introduced to the market. While navigating the waters of becoming gluten-free, Kim shares her experiences and passes along valuable product reviews in addition to helping other moms of celiac kids develop healthy menus that are kid-friendly and palatable. Kimberly is a valuable resource for those who are newly diagnosed, as well as for the more seasoned gluten-free veterans. Follow Kim on Twitter!


  1. chs says:

    “Gluten Friendly” sounds like it would the opposite of gluten-free! The term makes me picture lots of pasta and bread.

  2. Meg says:

    I was informed by my server at Brio that the ‘Gluten-Friendly’ menu was not in fact Gluten-Free. I was dumbstruck and his manager confirmed that it’s a not-actually-gluten-free menu. Apparently, almost every item on the ‘Gluten-Friendly’ menu contains gluten but you can ask the chef to prepare what you want without gluten. Then why bother with a dedicated menu? I opted to eat at home later.

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>