Bringing Nacho Cheese Back - Celiac Disease
Jun 14 2012

Bringing Nacho Cheese Back

Word on the street is that Doritos has reformulated the nacho cheese flavor and they are now gluten-free.  It is unclear whether or not Frito Lay did this intentionally, or if the new formulation just happened to be void of the wheat that once rendered the chips unsafe for those following the gluten-free diet.  Whatever the reason, this girl and her boy are as happy as a couple of kids in a candy store.


Once I heard the news, I added a trip to the grocery store to my list of things to do.  I had to check to see if the reformulated Doritos were on the shelves yet.  I may have done a little happy dance right in the middle Walmart when I found a bag that was indeed free of the dreaded wheat.  I know it sounds a little silly that a grown woman is so excited over such a trivial thing.  I think that when you are told you can’t have something it makes you want it even more, regardless of what that reason is for not being able to eat said forbidden food.

Of course I dove right into the bag once I got home.  I am surprised that I made it home without ripping open the bag, but I was strong and plotted my feast.  Everyone has a different memory involving Doritos nacho cheese since they are the original flavor.  My mom ate these non-stop when she was pregnant with me, so I truly believe that plays a part in my love for the cheesy delight.  As a child, I remember digging through the bag with my sister looking for the cheesiest chip, as back in those days they were few and far between, not abundant as they are in the bags today.

I knew that in addition to eating the chips straight out of the bag, I wanted to create one of my childhood favorites – a turkey sandwich with Doritos on it.  There is no need for cheese on this sandwich – just turkey, lettuce and Doritos nacho cheese chips.


My sandwich was made on a Schar hamburger bun, as I didn’t have any other bread on hand.  I toasted the bun and piled on the layers.  This was nothing short of fantastic!  I was transported back to my childhood days, sitting at the table bickering with my sister about why she dipped her Doritos in applesauce.  Who does that?  I’ll tell you who does that – the gluten-free people who no longer have to avoid Doritos nacho cheese now that the wheat has been removed.

Have you tried the new, reformulated Doritos nacho cheese?  Care to share your experience?

**Please exercise caution and make sure that you have a new, reformulated bag of Doritos nacho cheese before indulging, as there may be old bags still on the shelves.

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!


  1. Deanna says:

    It was Doritos dipped in cream cheese for me. Luckily, I can’t do dairy these days, either. Otherwise, I’d be pigging out on Doritos. It’s best just to abstain. (At least that’s what I’m telling myself.)

  2. cynthia says:

    oh no this is not godo for my waist line..hehehe. Kids just opened a bag tonight…off to check them out. Was it just listed as wheat previously or what was the specific ingredient? Thanks!

  3. Linda says:

    I didn’t know what I was starting when I ate all those Doritos when I was carrying u! And instill love them!

  4. Richelle Cooper says:

    Yes, Doritos dipped in cream cheese was delicious. Thanks Kim for getting the word out Doritos are now gluten free.

  5. dave says:

    Have they guaranteed they are wheat free now? I ask because the frito page still shows them as having wheat in the nutrition section.

  6. Theresa says:

    Tried them this weekend. My daughter loves them, so glad to have the whole line of Doritos available to eat 🙂

  7. Chris says:

    So my son was at Celiac camp last week and the kids were all talking about how they are NOT gluten free. In looking at the Frito-Lay site, it appears that only the large bags are gluten-free, not the snack-sized bags. So I guess that’s what everyone was referring to — Any insight into that?

    • Chris,

      All of the bags that I have seen that contain gluten say so right on the label on the back of the package. I don’t know anything about the snack size packages, as all that I have purchased were the larger bags.

      Editing to add – it is possible that there may be some bags with gluten in them still on the shelves or in circulation.


  8. Dave says:

    Small bags sti ll have wheat! We get them weekly at work.. Sigh

  9. Sharon says:

    I read where some of the bags may still say wheat but the product has been reformulated for awhile. Still, I’d be cautious about buying those. I was the same way–bought a bag of them the day I heard the news and ate them with salsa for lunch! Another happy dance!

  10. marilyn says:

    Feb.27, 2013 Large bag of Doritos cheese nachos has wheat flour listed in the ingredients.

  11. Jennifer says: My hubby tried them and got sick. I looked on the website this morning. FYI Only plain are gluten free.

    • Jennifer,

      If you scroll down, they list many other Doritos flavors that don’t contain gluten. I am sorry your husband got sick. Is it possible that he got one of the bags that still contained wheat?


    • Samantha says:

      Could he be developing a lactose intolerance? Some people slowly develop this (myself included) since our bodies produce less lactase to break milk down as we grow up. 🙂 Doritos would kill me and my youngest child (well, kill is a bit strong, but it would just be awful). Or…it looks like these Doritos are made on lines that are cleaned, but not tested for gluten–so I guess there is room for error there. Since Doritos are sooo popular I wish Frito Lay could add them to the “tested” list. 🙂 Here’s hoping!!

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>