Burger King's Gluten Free Menu - Celiac Disease
Dec 3 2008

Burger King's Gluten Free Menu

While out on the go, finding a gluten free fast food meal can often be difficult.   Throughout most of the country, there seems to be a McDonald’s or Burger King on just about every corner, making those both desirable places to have gluten free options.

Most people seem to have a pretty good idea about McDonald’s gluten free options, but what about Burger King?  Here at Gluten Free Restaurants, we’ve put some time into trying to obtain a complete Burger King gluten free menu, but haven’t gotten anything official yet.  It seems that big corporations like Burger King have legal departments which won’t allow them to confirm much (if anything) is in fact gluten free.

That leaves us to dig through their ingredient information on their official website.  So far the only items we’ve been able to confirm are in fact gluten free are the following:

  • Tendergrill Garden Salad (bring your own dressing)
  • French Fries (these are naturally gluten free, but confirm your location uses a dedicated fryer!)
  • Pop/Sodas and milk

That is based upon the information available in Burger King’s official ingredient list (PDF) and allergens list.

Unfortunately, this is not a very extensive list, leaving a lot to be desired for someone on a gluten free diet.   If you are forced to eat fast food, give Wendy’s a try, or McDonald’s if that is the only alternative in your area.

Update: Burger King has finally released an official gluten-free menu, which can be viewed here (PDF).  Nothing impressive, but it is nice to have official information from the company!

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!


  1. Mare' says:

    My nutritionist told me that Wendy’s fries are gluten free because they are fried separately from other fried food which is full of gluten. I ate them more than few times and I never felt sick…so this is safe for all of us.

    • Dawn Canning says:

      Normal “frozen” fries are coated before they are frozen to keep them from sticking together. Don’t do it!

  2. Mia says:

    On Wendy’s website, it specifically states that fries are not cooked separately, and are not gluten free. Please double check what everyone tells you. Also, I have received breaded onion rings in my Burger King fries, so they should not be considered gluten-free either. Even if they are cooked in dedicated fryers, cross contamination occurs when the same tongs are used for fries and rings.

  3. GF says:

    Mia – where exactly does it say that Wendy’s fries are not cooked separately? What it DOES say is that they MAY be cooked with gluteny items but the fries themselves DO NOT contain gluten.

    French Fries: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (contains one or more of the following: soy, canola, cottonseed, partially hydrogenated soy and/or cottonseed), Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate or Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (color protectors), Dextrose. Cooked in Soy, Corn, Cottonseed, & Hydrogenated Soy Oil. Note: may be cooked in the same oil as Fish Fillets (where available), Crispy Chicken Nuggets, Crispy Chicken Patty. Seasoned with Salt.


    And yes, I am aware of the risks of CC from things other than the fryers.

    • worries says:

      I have worked in several fast food places and most high volume (i.e. mcD, wendy, BK) all use fries dusted with wheat to last longer under the heat lamps… places that cook to order usually have no need for this since they are slightly more expensive.. go to Gordons or any restaurant food supplies store and see for yourself and DONT TRUST ANYBODY!! ask to see the case if thats what it takes…p.s. i agree flutter.. my soy allergy is worse and it is im EVERYTHING (and even more in gluten free foods)… almost all fryer oil used in the US is soy derived.. when traveling in spain however we noticed even mcDs uses olive oil because it is so cheap there… it was heaven!

  4. flutter says:

    Gluten Free means NO SOY also!!! It would be Wonderful if I could stop at a fast food and not have that ever-present soy as an ingredient in the Burgers, the oils, the dressings, etc. Gluten free food will be USELESS to 75% or more of Celiacs….who need GF food!!! Take Soy out of foods…….it’s just a filler and BAD for you anyway. I haven’t been to a fast food joint in over a decade!……The soy industry has Fooled the American public on the whole idea of soy. I liken it to the way the cigarette industry didn’t tell you the truth in the 50’s & 60’s! Soy is BAD, BAD, news!!! It is a KNOWN CARCINOGEN! If you’re going to have a GF menu, LEAVE OUT THE SOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Seamaiden says:

    Flutter does not seem to know what gluten is. Gluten is the protein found in WHEAT RYE OATS and BARLEY. Soy does not contain this protein. Celiacs CAN actually eat soy barring a soy allergy. Soy is also NOT a carcinogen like tobacco, which is an entirely different situation- there have been studies showing soy can LOWER cancer rates. Granted there are also questions raised recently about estrogen rates and soy but much of this research is still up for debate. Very ill informed post. If you have an allergy to soy, I’m sorry and can understand how it would be frustrating to find soy in food that is gluten-free but still off limits due to soy. However, Gluten-free does not and should not mean SOY-FREE. Allergen-free is an entirely different topic.

    By the way, I misspoke slightly above and wished to clarify. Technically there is no gluten in Oats- the protein in oats resembles oats so some individuals may react to it, but the main issue with mainstream oats is that they are subject to high levels of cross contamination with wheat etc. in processing. I tend to avoid them on a gluten-free diet, but it may be possible to incorporate them safely into a gluten-free diet if one consumes the gluten-free certified oats.

  6. Lulu says:

    I don’t know if I understand your (flutter) comment on soy. I have never heard that gluten free means no soy. Can you tell me about what you are saying.

  7. Kristin says:

    Soy SAUCE has gluten in it. Soy doesn’t.

    • Laura says:

      Yes, but it’s not because of the Soybeans, it’s because typical soy sauce contains wheat. You can buy gluten free soy sauce, which simply eliminates the wheat. Soy is gluten-free.

    • Mike says:

      La Choy doesn’t have gluten.

    • Diane Blanton says:

      All Soy Sauce does not have Gluten in it. However, it is hard to find a brand in some grocery stores that is Gluten Free.

    • Geraldine (Gerry) Adams says:

      Dr. Ann Myers, a Nutritional, functional Doctor says that Soy and Glute
      n have the same molelucular structure, and that if you are allergic to either, you will have the same
      response to both.

  8. cwendyhawk says:

    Uh…..Burger King’s slad the Tendergrill Salad that was gluten free for so long no longer is gluten free…their are many articles on the internet that are OLD…and NEED TO BE UPDATED……so check out the new nutritional info….

  9. Kelly says:

    Burger King fries are high for cross contamination. The first few times I ate them I didn’t get sick, but lately I have been. I just stay away from them. Wendy’s haven’t seem to bother me so far.

  10. sarah says:

    That’s nice that Burger King is trying to have a gluten free menu. Yes, their patties are gluten free according to their website. However, I was in our local BK not too long ago and asked for the patties (no bun). I watched as the girl made me a hamburger – putting patties on the buns. When I asked the manager about it, the girl who made my hamburger took the meat off the patties and gave them to me in a dish. I was rather upset to say the least as I am not only allergic to wheat, but also sesame seeds. I explained that gluten free does not mean “recycled” and that the girl who made the food needs to start over with new patties, not reuse the ones she put on hamburger buns. I haven’t been back to BK since.

  11. Tori says:

    It actually has been proven that soy can lead to different types of cancers. It increases female harmones in the body which can lead obviously to an imbalance in harmones. Soy is also in everything and infact most people are probably allergic to it. Probably 100% of the soy you consume is chemically and genetically modified. Soy is hidden in practically everything we eat and is not healthy for the body whether you have an allergy to it or not.

  12. Sarah says:

    The official Burger King gluten-free menu PDF is no longer available at the above address.

  13. Tiffany Janes says:

    Soy is not hidden in anything in the U.S. because by law it’s required to be clearly listed in the ingredients. It used to be hidden, though.

    Sarah – thanks so much for that info. I’ll contact the BK rep and see what’s up with the gf menu being missing…interesting.

  14. Niki says:

    I’ve been eating BK burgers on rice cakes….hope that;’s OK because 1} mmmmmm and 2} it’s almsot the only food on a 3 hr car ride i take often!

    • Aurea Mabe says:

      I am dying for a good hamburger, i have celiac {Gluten Free), can you tell me the best place to go? thanks

      • Al says:

        My son has celiac disease and he has taken to Red Robin. They have great burgers and have gluten free fries all you can eat. From talking to the manager, they take a great approach to this and are very strict on their policies to enforce them.

    • Diane Blanton says:

      Try Udis bread in the frozen section of the grocery store. Ingles and Lowes Grocery stores carry it. It is much better than the rice cakes for a sandwich!

  15. Cat317 says:

    In regards to a good burger, 99 Restaurants have decent ones. Also, if you are lucky enough to live near a Five Guy’s Burgers & Fries, they have amazingly fresh beef. You will have to order without a bun but they tend to respond well when you inform them of a gluten allergy. Also, their website states their french fries are gluten free and I don’t know about you but I find it hard to find tasty gluten free fries but boy are Five Guy’s yummy! Hope that helps!

  16. Lifegoeson says:

    At the supermarket, they now have gluten free and yeast free fruit bread that you toast, I put butter on it and it is real nice because the fruit is raisins. There is a drama, since they have this beautiful loaf of bread in the supermarket they sell out really fast and I hardly get the buy a loaf because all the other supermarkets near me and gluten free food stores do not sell these fruit loaves. There are so many gluten free sufferers it is crazy, and people at fast food restaurants look at me like blank blinking hens, not know what on earth I am talking about being Gluten Free. All they need to do now is go, chirp, chirp, LOL!


  1. […] Burger King’s Gluten-Free Menu […]

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>