Checking Labels for Ingredients with Gluten - Celiac Disease
Dec 29 2008

Checking Labels for Ingredients with Gluten

Are you newly diagnosed with Celiac Disease or another gluten intolerance?  Below we’ve taken the time to throw together a list of the commonly found wheat ingredients, as well as a number of products that may contain gluten (and are commonly missed!).

For a complete and current list of ingredients, you’ll want to check out Gluten Free Ingredients and Gluten Ingredients.  These two sites were built specifically for tracking food ingredients!

Ingredients That Contain Wheat:

  • Anything with the  “wheat” in it (except buckwheat which is gluten free)
  • Flours (unless the product says gluten free flour, or is made purely from a non-gluten source, like rice flour)
  • Most baked goods including muffins, cookies, cakes, pies (see Gluten Free Recipes for gluten free versions of these products)
  • Bread including wheat bread, white bread, and “potato” bread
  • Pasta, pizza, bagels
  • Durum
  • Farina
  • Bulgur
  • Matzoh
  • Cous-cous
  • Semolina
  • Emmer
  • Eikorn
  • Farro
  • Graham

Known Relatives of Wheat:

  • Barley
  • Beer
  • Malt flavoring, syrup or extract (found in most commercial cereals)
  • Malt vinegar
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Kamut
  • Triticale

Ingredients That Do Contain Gluten:

  • Oats (due to cross-contamination with wheat) – see the Truth about Celiac Disease and Oats for additional information.
  • Brown rice syrup (often made with barley)
  • Dextrin (usually made with corn, but sometimes made with wheat; maltodextrin is okay)
  • Mono and dyglycerides
  • Caramel color (most likely gluten free if made in USA)
  • Modified food starch or modified starch (if it does not specify what kind of starch – confirmed modified corn starch is okay)
  • Hydrolyzed or textured plant or vegetable protein (if it does not specify a plant/vegetable that is gluten free)
  • Vegetable gum (source is unknown, but carob bean gum, locust bean gum, cellulose gum, guar gum, gum arabic, gum aracia and xanthan gum are gluten-free)
  • Natural and artificial flavorings
  • Seasonings and seasoning mixes

Glutens That Are Commonly Missed by New Celiacs:

  • Soy sauces (some are okay, but most contain wheat), teriyaki sauces (which contain soy sauce), oyster sauce, hoisin sauce, and many types of marinades
  • Commercial cereals (most are made from wheat and/or have malt flavoring which comes from barley)
  • Flavored coffees or teas
  • Imitation seafood (if ordering sushi, make sure that they use real crab)
  • Imitation bacon
  • Packaged bacon (some brands contain soy sauce)
  • Processed meats
  • Mexican food (some places buy marinated meats that contain soy sauce; corn chips are sometimes cooked in same oil as fried flour tortillas)
  • Soups, stews, bisques, anything made from a “roux”
  • Anything breaded, floured or marinated
  • Some blue or green-veined cheeses
  • Medicines — go to Gluten Free Medications for a current list
  • Lipstick and any other non-food items that are likely to be ingested by accident (babies and kids who put hands in mouth).  Common examples include playdough, lotions, pastes, etc.

Confirmed Gluten Free Foods (okay to eat!):

  • Corn, including polenta (verifyother ingredients that may have been added)
  • Rice, including risotto (verify other ingredients that may have been added)
  • Potatoes
  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Montina
  • Millet
  • Tapioca
  • Quinoa
  • Teff
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Distilled vinegars (including red, white and balsamic; malt vinegar is not ok) – Some people prefer to avoid vinegars made from gluten-containing grains
  • Distilled alcohol (unless gluten containing flavorings are added) – Some people prefer to avoid alcohol made from gluten-containing grains

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>