Dairy Queen's Gluten Free Menu - Celiac Disease
Jan 10 2009

Dairy Queen's Gluten Free Menu

Looking for a gluten free ice cream in your area?   Dairy  Queen has long been known as being very friendly to customers with Celiac Disease, and due to the size of their restaurants, it is likely that you’ve got one in your area!

If you’d like to visit one in your area, you’ll first want to check out the official Dairy Queen gluten free menu.    For your convenience, we’ve placed a portion of it here for your reference:

Dairy Queen’s Gluten Free Fast Food Menu

  •     Vanilla and Chocolate Soft Serve
  •     Arctic Rush™ slush – all flavors
  •     MooLatté®
  •     (Please note:  This does NOT include Hazelnut Flavored drinks.)

Additionally the following toppings are gluten-free:

  •     Chocolate
  •     Hot Fudge
  •     Marshmallow
  •     Butterscotch
  •     Strawberry
  •     Caramel

Our supplier of manufactured novelties informs us that the following items are also gluten-free:

  •     DQ® Fudge Bar
  •     DQ® Vanilla Orange Bar  
  •     Dilly® Bar (look for this in a sealed plastic wrap)

If you would like to try one of our famous Blizzard® treats, the following is a list of gluten-free Blizzard® treats.

  •     Reese’s® Peanut Butter Cup Blizzard®
  •     Butterfinger® Blizzard®
  •     Snickers® Blizzard®
  •     Heath® Blizzard®
  •     M&M® Blizzard®
  •     Banana Split Blizzard®
  •     Hawaiian Blizzard®
  •     Tropical Blizzard®
  •     Strawberry Blizzard®
  •     Mint M&M® Blizzard®

Dairy Queen has also added the following disclaimer:

Please know, many of our Blizzard® candies and toppings contain wheat, rye, oats, and/or barley and would not be safe for a customer with gluten intolerance.  As the Blizzard® machine is used for all flavors, cross-contamination may occur on any flavor Blizzard®.  So for your safety, we recommend notifying the Dairy Queen® staff of your allergy or intolerance and requesting they thoroughly clean the Blizzard® machine before blending your Blizzard® to reduce the risk of cross-contamination.

When in doubt whether a product may contain a particular allergen, we recommend you purchase a pre-packaged manufactured novelty treat, which contains an ingredient listing and nutrition facts panel on the package.

Dairy Queen® restaurants are very busy and cross contamination may occur between ingredients. Thus a 100% confidence level cannot be guaranteed. It is important that you ask your local Dairy Queen® restaurant for an ingredient listing of the specific item in question and let them know of your special needs.

For many more gluten free items and the most up to date allergy and nutrition information, please visit our nutrition calculator.

As always, remember to explain your dietary needs to the person taking your order to help prevent cross-contamination or other problems!

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!


  1. deborah mcLaughlin says:

    I love Dairy Queen! I’m 68 yrs. old. I first eating dairy queen ice cream when I was 8 yrs. old. Then I started with blizzards all through high school. I found out I was diabetic when I was 25.NO DAIRY QUEEN SINCE I love soft serve ice cream:ONLY! Does dairy queen have anything for diabetics? I hope so:Wherein
    Thanks!! ft. lauderdale, FL?

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>