General Mills and Betty Crocker Announce Gluten Free Products
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

Apr 16 2009

General Mills and Betty Crocker Announce Gluten Free Products

Some major corporations are starting to review the ingredients in their products to determine if they can be made gluten free.    In many situations it can be as simple as switching 1-2 ingredients to make a product gluten free without affecting the taste of the product.

General Mills has converted some of their Chex products in the past to be gluten free, but now it looks like even more will be gluten free!    Here are the new products list from General Mills that will be gluten free by June 1, 2009:

  • Corn Chex
  • Honey Nut Chex
  • Strawberry Chex
  • Chocolate Chex
  • Cinnamon Chex

Note:  As you always should be anyway, you’ll want to review the boxes of cereal to verify that it isn’t an older box of cereal.  You should begin seeing something like NOW GLUTEN FREE or GLUTEN FREE somewhere on the box.

I’ve also discovered several published reports around the internet confirming that Betty Crocker will be making a few of their products gluten free about the same time:

  • Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie Mix
  • Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix
  • Betty Crocker Gluten Free Devils Food Cake Mix
  • Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

Here is the quote from Betty Crocker:

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet when they are not labeled Gluten Free. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package; and for this reason, we do not offer a gluten-free product list.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing. We want you to be assured that if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the products ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!

Comments

  1. Sondra Whatley says:

    YAY for gluten free products !!!!!

  2. donna says:

    when is betty crocker going to be getting gluten free products in wellington,kanasas and caldwell,kanasas. IN CALDWELL,KANSASTHE LITTLE STORE CALLED KARL’S APPLEMARKKET ANDWELLINGGTON THEIRS TWO STORES BOTH ARE BIG NAME STORES BUT FR SOME REASON THEY DON’T SEAM TO CARRY BUT BISQUTE GLUTEN FREEPRODUCTS. I’M TALKING ABOUT DILLONS AND WALMART

  3. Sandi Alonzo says:

    Tried gluten free Bisquick and made shortcakes for strawberry shortcake. They taste good but the boxes are WAY to SMALL!

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>