Gluten-Free Vegetarian Burgers
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

May 19 2010

Gluten-Free Vegetarian Burgers

There are many different vegetarian burgers on the market today, however, only a handful are gluten-free. Some of the burgers are made with a base of soybeans while others are made with a base of nuts and brown rice. I tend to avoid large amounts of soy, so we stay clear of those made with a base of soybeans in favor of those made without soy.

Artichoke Burgers are made from artichokes, cashews, brown rice, celery, olive oil, potato and corn starch, evaporated cane sugar, salt & spices. These burgers made by Five Star Foodies are fantastic! I was able to find these at my Whole Foods store and enjoy them in the summer with sweet potato steak fries and a large salad. To find Artichoke Burgers at stores other than Whole Foods, click here.

artichoke burger

Sunshine Burgers are another favorite of mine. Sunshine Burgers are made of sunflower seeds, brown rice, carrots, herbs & sea salt. There are 4 different flavors of Sunshine Burgers along with a Falafel Patty & Breakfast Patty. My favorite is the original. I love to eat them on Everybody Eats deli buns or Udi’s gluten-free bagels. I have a serious problem with Sunshine Burgers – I can’t stop eating them! If you have never tried these, you are missing out! Sunshine Burgers are sold at Whole Foods and many other health food stores across the US. For more information on where to find Sunshine Burgers, click here.

Amy’s Kitchen makes a Gluten-free Bistro Burger. I have not personally tried this product, though I have heard good things about it. This product does contain soy. Interestingly enough, these burgers have less protein and are lower in calorie than the Artichoke or Sunshine Burgers at only 5 grams of protein and 110 calories per burger. Amy’s Kitchen burgers can be found in many stores across the US. Click here to find one close to you.

Dr. Praeger’s makes a Gluten-free California Veggie Burger. I have not tried these burgers either and have not heard as many positive things about them. It seems that people either love them or hate them. They also contain soy and only have 5 grams of protein and 120 calories per burger, so less than the Artichoke & Sunshine burgers. Dr. Praeger’s can be found in many stores across the US. Click here to find one close to you.

Another option is to make your own vegetarian burgers at home. I have made burgers from black beans, cooked quinoa and sweet potatoes before with very good results. Brown rice, chickpeas, carrots & sunflower seeds are another possible combo. Add in spices of your choice, whirl together in a food processor, form into patties and then bake or sauté.

Here is a good looking recipe for a black bean sweet potato burger. This one uses chickpeas. Just sub some gluten-free bread crumbs and buns and you are good to go. I would share my recipes, but I tend to just wing it with veggie burgers and play around until the consistency is right.

What are some of your favorite gluten-free vegetarian burgers? Do you make your own?

Article Written by:

Kimberly Bouldin is a gluten-free wife, runner & blogger with two children in Columbus, Ohio. After her celiac diagnosis in 2006, she has made it her mission to embrace an entirely new approach to nutrition in a gluten-free world, exploring options that run the gamut from "made from scratch" homemade bread to sampling and reviewing the gluten-free prepared foods that are continuously being introduced to the market. While navigating the waters of becoming gluten-free, Kim shares her experiences and passes along valuable product reviews in addition to helping other moms of celiac kids develop healthy menus that are kid-friendly and palatable. Kimberly is a valuable resource for those who are newly diagnosed, as well as for the more seasoned gluten-free veterans. Follow Kim on Twitter!

Related Posts

  • Hun

    I’m very new to this whole gluten-free issue (just recently discovered I’m sensitive to it). I’ve been having trouble finding veggie burgers which do not contain wheat gluten as one of the top 3 ingredients.

    However– I saw gluten-free Veggie Burgers today in the grocery store–the brand is Franklin Farms and the burgers had a ‘gluten-free’ banner on the label in the corner. There were 2 varieties–original and portabella.

    Also–although I haven’t tried it yet, I just purchased another brand–Dominex Eggplant burgers. They aren’t labelled as gluten-free, but I don’t see either wheat gluten or wheat protein listed in the ingredients.