Wrigley's and Orbit's Gluten-Free Gum
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

Dec 3 2008

Wrigley's and Orbit's Gluten-Free Gum

Gum is one of those foods that most people really don’t think about whether it is gluten-free or not, because most of them are naturally gluten-free.   Recently Erin of Gluten-Free Fun took the time to contact Wrigley gum and confirm which of their gums are considered gluten-free, so I wanted to pass this information along to our readers.

Here is Wrigley’s official response:

The following is a list of U.S. Wrigley products that remain free of any wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten:

  • Wrigley’s Spearmint® gum
  • Freedent® gum
  • Doublemint® gum
  • Extra® gum
  • Big Red® gum
  • Eclipse® gum
  • Juicy Fruit® gum
  • Winterfresh® gum
  • Orbit® gum
  • Orbit® White gum
  • Lifesavers®
  • Altoids®
  • 5® products

Please note that Altoids Chocolate Dipped mints carry a warning that the product is made on equipment that also processes milk and wheat.

If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten, several of our brands contain corn syrup, which may have trace amounts of corn gluten in it. The amount of gluten in one stick is less than 0.2 milligrams, but if you are extremely sensitive, you may want to consult with your physician before chewing our brands.

Additionally, no packaging material directly next to our product contains gluten sources. There may be instances when starches are used on the label around each individual stick of gum, but these starches are produced from corn or potatoes, not from wheat, rye, barley, oats, millet or buckwheat.

Great information Erin!

Update:  Please see this comment for an updated response from Wrigley’s regarding their gluten-free products!

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!

Related Posts

  • Jamie Brummmel

    I was reading the label on Orbit White Bubblemint gum and it includes maltitol in the ingredients. According to the Celiac Sprue Association’s Gluten-Free Product Listing (13th edition), maltitol is obtained by hydrogenation from maltose, which comes from malt sugar, which generally comes from barley. Further, no Wrigley brands are listed as “safe” in CSA’s product listing.

  • Jessica

    wrigley’s orbit gum is not gluten free. Jamie is correct about the malt. Malt is not gluten free. my boyfriend would chew wrigley’s orbit gum and if we kissed i would have a horrible headache that would not go away. If you are looking for gluten free gum, all flavors of trident gum are gluten free and its supposed to be good for your teeth.

  • Felecia

    Wrigleys gum is indeed gluten-free. This is an email I received from Wrigleys, received on August 13, 2010:

    Dear Felecia,

    Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.

    The following is a list of U.S. Wrigley products that remain free of any wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten:

    Wrigley’s Spearmint® gum, Freedent® gum, Doublemint® gum, Extra® gum, Big Red® gum, Eclipse® gum, Juicy Fruit® gum, Winterfresh® gum, Orbit® gum, Orbit® White gum, Lifesavers®, Altoids®, 5®, Skittles® and Starburst® products.

    Please note that Altoids Chocolate Dipped mints carry a warning that the product is made on equipment that also processes milk and wheat.

    If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten, several of our brands contain corn syrup, which may have trace amounts of corn gluten in it. The amount of gluten in one stick is less than 0.2 milligrams, but if you are extremely sensitive, you may want to consult with your physician before chewing our brands

    Additionally, no packaging material directly next to our product contains gluten sources. There may be instances when starches are used on the label around each individual stick of gum, but these starches are produced from corn or potatoes, not from wheat, rye, barley, oats, millet or buckwheat.

    We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

    Sincerely,
    Amy Soprano
    Consumer Care Representative

    • Donna Jones

      I had the mini Altoids yesterday (August 2012) and had an immediate reaction. I thought all Altoids were gluten free. Turned the box over and it clearly stated contained wheat. I’m new at this and now learning to double check everything. Not sure why they are still saying Altoids are gluten free. Makes me wonder about the gum.

  • Missy

    Maybe they don’t have wheat, oat, rye, or barley gluten, but they DO have ingredients that derive from barley, which means they are unsafe for anyone with a gluten intolerance or Celiac Disease. I was having really intense headaches last week and realized I was getting them every time I chewed a piece of gum. I thought it was from some intense chewing, or something, but now realize it was from the damn ingredients. Last week was utter hell.. no more gum for this girl.

    • Mandy

      I’ve been chewing the Extra Dessert Delights gum and feel horrible… in a fog, headache, etc. Trying to figure out the problem… think it’s the gum. Says it has “hydrogenated starch hydrolysate” on the package. Don’t know how I missed this. Ugh!

      • Kristen

        I’ve just chewed the Extra Dessert Delights gum, and I feel as if all of my symptoms are coming back. I’ve chewed gum in the past and been fine, but I guess not this time. :/

        • terri

          Wow…thanks for your post. I’ve been suffering all week with my ‘gluten’ symptoms, and I still can’t figure out what it is. The only thing different I’ve been doing is chewing the Extra Dessert Delights gum. I’m so willing to give it up, if I can feel good again!!! Thank You!

          • Kristen

            You are welcome, I have figured out whatever gum you get look at the ingredients and make sure it doesn’t have “hydrogenated starch hydrolysate” written on it. Even though it’s only made up of less than 2% of the product, it will still make you sicker than a dog.

          • Tabitha

            Wow, ive been getting all my symptoms back too and I just picked up the root beer float.. :/

      • Laura

        I wanted to share this response that I recieved when I questioned about the hydrogenated starch hydrolysate in Wrigley/Extra Gum:

        Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.

        The hydrogenated starch hydrolysate we use is derived from potatoes.

        All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled within strict compliance of applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Any materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient line.

        The FDA has issued a proposed rule on gluten-free labeling, allowing food products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten (sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids), to be considered gluten-free. [Federal Register: January 23, 2007 (Volume 72, Number 14)]

        All U.S. Wrigley chewing gum and confection products have been assessed to be gluten-free with the exception of the products listed below, which contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and may contain trace amounts of gluten.

        Accordingly, these products are labeled as containing wheat-derived ingredients:

        • Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is stated in the ingredient line)
        • Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)

        If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.

        We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

        Sincerely,

        Gregory Smith
        Consumer Care Representative

        • http://glutenfreeislife.com/ Kimberly Bouldin

          Thank you for sharing!

  • Katie

    Bummer!! Does anyone know of a gum that would be Gluten free and Dairy free?

    • Allison (mom of Celiac teen)

      I found SPRY gum at Whole Foods for my daughter and she’s grateful! She’s a total gum chewer but a new Celiac and is finally pain free and wants to stay that way.
      SPRY is
      Non GMO, Gluten Free listed on pkg.
      ingred: Xylitol, gum base, peppermint oil, veg glycerin, soy lecithin and beeswax as glazing agent
      http://www.xlear.com/spry.aspx

      • Todd

        What is corn gluten???? I thought corn was safe? I am confused

  • monica

    I react to all wrigley’s gum. GI symptoms and headache. I have an email from wrigley’s that says only its sugar free gums are gluten free. There is something in the gum or perhaps the wrapper I think.

  • Kathy

    Wikipedia says corn is safe.

  • http://www.glutenfreepromotions.com Tiffany Janes

    There is a protein in corn which is sometimes called corn gluten and it is NOT the type of gluten one has to avoid if they have celiac or gluten intolerance. Corn is gluten-free, period. Be careful with Wikipedia as there is a ton of misinformation on there for every topic.

  • Cathy Fusco

    Thanks for the great list! It’s about time I can chew come again~ I am chewing Eclipse as we speak. :) Yummy! Gets rid of my heartburn too!

  • Lynn

    Anyone know if Nicorettes contain gluten. I am constantly itching (prickly) ?

  • http://Virtuousliving.com NicholeVirtuousLiving

    I am sorry to say, I have been sick for two days since chewing Big Red. I will say that I am one that is extremely sensitive, and will never make that mistake again.

  • Pete

    How can you be 100% sure of someone who is assuring us that reason their product is Gluten Free is because (among other things) there is no buckwheat in it. lol Buckwheat is not even related to Wheat. :)

  • CK

    I asked Wrigley’s about their Excel sugar free gum and whether their ingredient maltitol was derived from wheat or corn gluten. This was their reply.

    Thanks for contacting Wrigley to ask about the gluten in our products. We understand it’s important to you to know the ingredients in the food you eat, and we’d be happy to share the information with you.

    You will be pleased to know that Wrigley brands contain no wheat, rye, oats or barley gluten.

    Our products, from production through the distribution channel, do not contain, nor are they exposed to any of the above allergens. Further, to the best of our knowledge, our suppliers store our ingredients and materials separately. To date, there have been no reports or consumer complaints of allergen cross-contamination to any of our finished products or ingredients.

    If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten, several of our brands contain corn syrup, which may have trace amounts of corn gluten in it. The amount of gluten in one stick is less than 0.2 milligrams, but if you are extremely sensitive, you may want to consult with your physician before chewing our brands.

    Additionally, no packaging material directly next to our product contains gluten sources. There may be instances when starches are used on the label around each individual stick of gum, but these starches are produced from corn or potatoes, not from wheat, rye, barley, oats, millet or buckwheat.

    The maltitol in ours gums is derived from corn.

    If you have any additional questions or comments feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY (974-4539) Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST or visit us at http://www.wrigley.com.

    Have a sweet day!

    Gregory Smith
    Consumer Care Representative
    8000365520

  • J’Marinde Shephard

    What about soy and dairy? (soy lecithin is okay)