Food & Ingredients Confirmed to Contain Gluten
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

Food & Ingredients Confirmed to Contain Gluten

Update: Unfortunately, as of 06/23/2011 we are no longer able to actively update our ingredients list; however, as much of this is likely still accurate, we have decided to leave it available “for your information” only.  Thanks!

Welcome to Gluten Ingredients, your home for the most up-to-date list of foods and ingredients which are confirmed to contain gluten!

Because ingredients can sometimes change and we strive to maintain a 100% accurate list of foods and ingredients which contain gluten, if you know of any ingredients on this list that are now safe for people following a gluten-free diet to consume, or know of an ingredient which contains gluten that is missing from our list below, please contact us so we can update our list and keep this as a useful resource!

Note: If you follow a strict gluten-free diet and are looking for a list of ingredients which are confirmed to be gluten-free, you’ll want to check out Gluten-Free Ingredients page.

Foods & Ingredients Confirmed to Contain Gluten

Click: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A Ingredients

  • Abyssinian Hard
  • Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
  • Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Artificial Color (may contain gluten)
  • Avena

B Ingredients

  • Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Barley Hordeum vulgare
  • Barley Malt
  • Beer
  • Bleached Flour
  • Blue Cheese (made with bread)
  • Bouillon
  • Bran
  • Bread Flour
  • Brewers Yeast
  • Broth (can be made with gluten)
  • Brown Flour
  • Brown Rice Syrup (may contain wheat)
  • Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
  • Bulgur Wheat

C Ingredients

  • Caramel Color (may contain gluten)
  • Cereal Binding
  • Chilton
  • Club Wheat
  • Coloring (may contain gluten)
  • Common Wheat
  • Couscous
  • Cracker Meal
  • Croutons

D Ingredients

  • Dextrins (may contain gluten)
  • Dextrimaltose
  • Dinkle (form of wheat)
  • Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate
  • Durum wheat

E Ingredients

  • Edible Starch
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer

F Ingredients

  • Farina
  • Farina Graham
  • Farro
  • Filler
  • Flavoring (may contain gluten)
  • Flour (normally this is wheat)
  • Food Starch (may contain gluten)
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)

G Ingredients

  • Germ
  • Glucose Syrup (may contain gluten)
  • Graham Flour
  • Granary Flour
  • Gravy Cubes (may contain gluten)
  • Groats (barley, wheat)
  • Ground Spices (may contain gluten)

H Ingredients

  • Hard Wheat
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Hydrolyzed Oat Starch
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
  • Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

I Ingredients

  • None known

J Ingredients

  • None known

K Ingredients

  • Kamut (Pasta wheat)

L Ingredients

  • None known

M Ingredients

  • Macha Wheat
  • Malt
  • Malt Extract
  • Malt Syrup
  • Malt Flavoring
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Malted Milk
  • Maltose (may contain gluten)
  • Matzo Semolina
  • Mir
  • Miso (may contain barley)
  • Modified Food Starch (may contain gluten)
  • Modified Starch (may contain gluten)
  • Mustard Powder (may contain wheat)

N Ingredients

  • Natural Flavoring (may contain gluten)

O Ingredients

P Ingredients

  • Pasta
  • Pearl Barley
  • Persian Wheat
  • Poulard Wheat
  • Polish Wheat

Q Ingredients

  • None known

R Ingredients

  • Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
  • Rice Syrup
  • Rye

S Ingredients

  • Scotch
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Semolina Triticum
  • Shot Wheat
  • Shoyu (soy sauce) (may contain gluten)
  • Small Spelt
  • Smoke Flavoring (may contain gluten)
  • Soba Noodles (may contain gluten)
  • Soy Sauce (may contain gluten)
  • Spirits (Specific Types)
  • Spelt
  • Sprouted Wheat or Barley
  • Starch (may contain gluten)
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Stock Cubes (may contain gluten)
  • Strong Flour
  • Suet in Packets

T Ingredients

  • Tabbouleh
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Textured Vegetable Protein – TVP
  • Timopheevi Wheat
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Triticum aestivum
  • Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum
  • Triticum boeotictim
  • Triticum carthlicum
  • Triticum dicoccoides
  • Triticum dicoccon
  • Triticum durum
  • Triticum monococcum
  • Triticum polonicum
  • Triticum spelta
  • Triticum timopheevii
  • Triticum turanicum
  • Triticum turgidum
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil

U Ingredients

  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Unbleached Flour

V Ingredients

  • Vavilovi Wheat
  • Vegetable Starch
  • Vital Gluten
  • Vitamins (may contain gluten)

W Ingredients

  • Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
  • Wheat amino acids
  • Wheat Berry
  • Wheat Bran Extract
  • Wheat, Bulgur
  • Wheat Durum Triticum
  • Wheat Germ Extract
  • Wheat Germ Glycerides
  • Wheat Germ Oil
  • Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Wheat Nuts
  • Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Starch
  • Wheat Triticum aestivum
  • Wheat Triticum Monococcum
  • Wheat Bran Extract
  • Whole-Meal Flour
  • Whole Wheat Berries
  • Wild Einkorn
  • Wild Emmer

X Ingredients

  • None known

Y Ingredients

  • None known

Z Ingredients

  • None known

Note: Please be advised that although we strive to keep this list as accurate and up-to-date as possible, this list is NOT an all-inclusive list and is intended to be used by the Celiac community as a resource.  If you follow a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to also consult our list of Gluten-Free Ingredients.