A couple of weeks ago I wrote a review of Tyrrell’s English Crisps. Since I wrote the review, I have come across information about some of the ingredients that I want to share with you guys.
It seems that two of the varieties of chips that were sent to me contain either malt vinegar or dried malt vinegar. I always browse labels before opening a package and was a little shocked that I didn’t catch this the first time I glanced at them. The bag says, “gluten-free”, so I immediately reached out to my contact. This is the response I received:
We got in touch immediately with our contacts on the Tyrrells Farm after receiving your email. Our Technical team have come back and confirmed the malt vinegar is highly processed and therefore ends up with a gluten content of <20ppm (parts per million) which conforms to FDA regs for gluten-free.
We hope this helps and please let us know if there is anything else we can assist with.
All the best,Randi
I am not sure how you guys feel about that, but I won’t willingly eat any product that contains gluten, even if it tests “gluten-free” or “gluten-removed”.
There has recently been a similar situation with Boulder Canyon and their potato chips. Tricia Thompson (Gluten-Free Watchdog) has been tirelessly working on this debacle. She is truly a blessing to the Celiac Community.
Would you eat something that tested “gluten-free” if it contained a gluten ingredient? Does it matter if it is <20PPM or <10PPM? The FDA ruling is <20PPM, the GFCO labeling requirement is <10PPM.