Jimmy John's Gluten Free Menu - Celiac Disease
Aug 1 2009

Jimmy John's Gluten Free Menu

Typically when it comes to restaurants that serve sub sandwiches, it is usually best to stay away from these types of stores all together as cross-contamination is such a huge concern.   However, after reading a few different testimonials on message boards from people who have successfully eaten a gluten free meal at a Jimmy John’s restaurant, I decided to look a little more into when foods they offer that are gluten free. 

A quick browse of their official website does not show any gluten free menu, so I decided to contact them and see what they had to say.   Here is the list they sent me:

Confirmed Gluten Free Foods

  • Bacon
  • Beef
  • Ham
  • Capicola
  • Salami
  • Turkey

Interestingly enough, they also went out of their way to point out that their cheese is NOT gluten free (this is one of the few products Celiacs can usually rely on to be gluten free at restaurants).

Of course, there are still concerns over cross-contamination, so if you decide to give Jimmy Johns a try, make sure to verify they use new gloves and take other precautions to avoid cross-contamination.

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!


  1. Scotty says:

    Their lettuce wraps are wonderful! But, YES, definitely ask them to change their gloves….an oversight my first visit and I certianly paid for it.

  2. Mike@Switch2GlutenFree says:

    I was getting excited as I read this…. BUT, NO CHEESE!!! I can’t go somewhere and get lettuce wraps with no cheese! Bummer

    • Kyle Eslick says:

      Cheese is definitely at the top of my list of favorite foods, so I was surprised and disappointed to find this out as well.

  3. Justin says:

    Uh, I work at Jimmy John’s and eat unwiches all the time. The beef is NOT gluten free it says it has wheat in it on the box. The turkey, bacon, vito meat, and ham never give me problems but be careful because there is bread every where. Make sure that if you want mayo to get packets.

    • carol says:

      I have been eating the tuna unwiches as my jimmy johns here told me the tuna and mayo GF. Is the tuna gluten free?

      • Beth says:

        Although it is wonderfully delicious, It is not gluten free as it contains soy sauce which contains gluten.

  4. Chris says:

    Always check the JJ website for most current information. Apparently there is no comprehensive and effective staff training program as of yet. Here is the response I received this week from corporate JJ. Please note the Beef is NOT GF, as stated in the article. The article may have been correct when written.

    Gluten Free Statement:
    Bacon – It is gluten free.
    Beef – It is not gluten free.
    Ham – It is gluten free.
    Capicola – It is gluten free.
    Salami – It is gluten free.
    Turkey – It is gluten free.
    French bread – It is not gluten free.
    Wheat bread – It is not gluten free.
    Cheese – It is not gluten free.
    Mayo – It is gluten free.
    Cookies – They are not gluten free.

    I also asked about other allergens and received the following.

    Dairy Free Statement:
    Our avocado is dairy free.
    Our bread is dairy free.
    Our cheese is not dairy free.
    Our chips are dairy free, except the S & V.
    S & V chips are not dairy free.
    Our cookies are not dairy free.
    Our bacon is dairy free.
    Our beef is dairy free.
    Our Capicola is dairy free.
    Our ham is dairy free.
    Our salami is dairy free.
    Our turkey is dairy free.
    Our tuna is dairy free

    Soy Free Statement:
    French bread – It is soy free.
    Wheat bread – It is not soy free.
    Bacon – It is soy free.
    Beef – It is not soy free.
    Ham – It is soy free.
    Capicola – It is soy free.
    Salami – It is soy free.
    Turkey – It is soy free.
    Tuna – It is not soy free.
    Cheese – It is soy free.
    Mayo – It is not soy free.

    Egg Free Statement:
    Bread – There are no eggs.
    Mayo – There are eggs in the mayo.
    Meats – There are no eggs.
    Cheese – There are no eggs.
    Cookies – There are eggs in our cookies.

    I hope this is helpful to others in the same boat as one of my family members! (GF, SF, DF, EF)

    • Kaiti says:

      THANK YOU!!!! I don’t understand why the info isn’t readily available on their website. ESP for top 8 allergens. Why do we have to email you directly to find out what allergens are in your sandwiches?! Be proactive Jimmy John’s! (EF DF)

  5. marlene eager says:

    Just to let everyone know Butterfinger candy is gluten free, but is not manufactured in a gluten free environment. Read their in there ingredients on the side of their wrapper. It was a real dissapointment.

  6. Amy says:

    Unless the soy sauce in the Mayo is gluten free, then the mayo is not gluten free.

    • Amy,

      Mayo doesn’t typically contain soy sauce, so the mayo should be gluten-free.


      • Adriane says:

        Restaurant Mayo is typically may with Soy oil.

        • Becky says:

          Jimmy John’s mayo isn’t “restaurant mayo”, not sure I even know what you mean by that. It comes in a Hellman’s Mayonnaise container that is displayed in the store for you to see. I don’t know if Hellman’s is made with soy oil but that is what they use.

        • Paul Weldele says:

          Soy oil is gluten free. Soy sauce is not. Wheat is added to soy sauce for flavoring and color.

  7. Lisa says:

    What about the pickles?

    • Cucumbers. Not pickles In this store says:

      Helmanns mayonnaise says gluten free .. man checked it for me since packages to go doesn’t say gluten free even being the same brand.

  8. Casey Stevens says:

    Lisa, the pickles are GF. I eat them all the time. I am celiac, very sensitive. However, DO NOT eat the TUNA. It contains soy sauce and I did not know this until after I ate it.

  9. kristie says:

    I have celiac and have never had an issue with their cheese….I am usually pretty sensitive too..

    • Heidi says:

      I have cd and I get sick every time I eat an unwhich. Everyday the employees touch bread and then stick their hands in the bins to grab lettuce, tomatoes and onions, which then cross contaminates them. Changing the gloves won’t help if the veggies are contaminated.

  10. Margaret says:

    Helmanns mayonnaise says gluten free .. man checked it for me since packages to go doesn’t say gluten free even being the same brand.


  1. […] Jimmy John’s Gluten-Free Menu […]

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>