There has long been a problem for Celiacs who attend a Catholic church, as in keeping with the belief that Jesus used a wheaten bread at the Last Supper, the Catholic Church has required that breads used for communion be made with wheat and contain gluten.
So, what is the solution? Apparently, it is a low gluten altar bread that has 0.01% gluten in it.
According to the Catholic church:
Having reviewed the laboratory reports you sent, which set the amount of gluten in these altar breads at 0.01%, I am pleased to state that these special hosts are indeed made according to the requirements of both the Code of Canon Law (c.924) and the special considerations set out by Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, Prefect for the Congregation for the Doctrine of Faith, in his July 24, 2003 letter to the Presidents of Episcopal Conferences (Prot. N. 89/78-17498) and may be validly used at Mass in the diocese of the United States with appropriate permission.
This way it meets the Catholic churches requirement of containing wheat, but according to a huge number of testimonials, it doesn’t seem to cause problems for people with Celiac Disease.
Here is the official response from the Celiac community:
The measurement cited here, 0.01%, represents 10 PPMs (parts per million). But the more important number is 37 micrograms, because it is daily exposure to gluten that counts. The best current information shows that 10 milligrams a day should be safe.
Ten milligrams is the same as 10,000 micrograms. If you divide 37 micrograms into 10,000 micrograms, you will find that you would have to eat 270 wafers every day to reach the danger point. At most, celiacs would consume one wafer per day or about 0.04% (four tenths of one percent) of the amount considered dangerous.
If you are interested in purchasing this bread, you can order it here.
Have any of our Catholic readers tried this bread? Let us know your experiences in the comments below!