McDonald's Gluten-free Update
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

Oct 14 2010

McDonald's Gluten-free Update

For those of you that like eating at McDonald’s, you might be interested to know that the company will no longer state that anything is gluten-free in their restaurants. No, that does not mean that there is nothing gluten-free there, of course. It means that the company decided to tell consumers to read the ingredients of menu items to decide whether it’s safe for them to eat there or not.

This protects the company from a legal standpoint because their formal statement on the status of gluten-free menu options is that they won’t confirm anything is safe – or unsafe – for people who can’t eat gluten.  For full details about this change, please read this post from Celiac-Disease.com. Be sure to click on the link in the article regarding the status of McDonald’s French fries.

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!

Related Posts

Comments

  1. John Kohlbrecher says:

    Is your southwest grilled chicken salad gulten free?

  2. As stated above, you’ll need to read the ingredients on MD’s website and then determine if you feel comfortable eating the food or not.

  3. Joyce says:

    I went to McD’s for the first time since I was diagnosed in 2007 because my grandsons wanted to eat there. I reviewed their online menu for over an hour before we went. I could not find anything that did not contain wheat or gluten! Their grilled chicken is not even an option since it contains WHEAT! I ended up with a plain Bacon Ranch salad with Ranch dressing. I’m sure I won’t be going back anytime soon. The grandkids will just have to go wherever I can eat the next time!

    • Liz says:

      Check the Ranch Dressing some have gluten.

      • Tom says:

        I have Celiac disease and regularly have the $1.00 garden salad with the ranch dressing with no I’ll effects; same with the fries, but I understand that some folks may have a problem with these items.

  4. Charee says:

    I work at a McDonald’s and just realized a month ago that I’m allergic to either gluten or wheat (not sure which yet). I have been reading the labels trying to find something I can eat, and basically I am limited to beef patties and apple dippers. I was eating grilled chicken quite a bit thinking it was safe, but turns out it’s injected with wheat gluten (why would they do that?) This is not fun at all…

    • Ariel says:

      Wheat is gluten.. Gluten is wheat rye and barley

      • ariel says:

        you need to buy corn fed meet. Especially beef it is shot with gluten as well. and don’t eat any fish all fish is shot with gluten unless you catch the fish out of water yourself

        • Karen says:

          This is not accurate. By USDA regulations, all meat products of any kind (beef, pork, chicken etc) MUST have all plant protein ingredients listed clearly. They cannot be hidden in Natural flavors, etc. Since gluten is a plant protein, any wheat, rye barley or oats must be listed in the ingred & gluten injested by animals is not carried over into their meat.

          • Karen is correct about meats and USDA law. I would add that due to this law it’s much easier to figure out which meat items are gluten-free than the non meat food groups.

  5. Janice says:

    I was told that their fries were safe from gluten because they are cooked in separate oil from the products containing gluten. Is this not true??

    • michele says:

      Last time I read the ingredients for McD’s fries, they contained wheat starch. I never eat them for that reason. I try not to even go to McD’s because it’s just torture.

  6. Leslie says:

    Janice, their fries are not gluten free because of the pre-work seasonings that they put on them contain gluten.

  7. Andrea says:

    In response to Karen’s comment:
    At this point in time, barley, rye and oats are not required to be listed in the 8 major allergens. This is unfortunate, because barley and rye are forms of gluten and oats are not safe, unless they are clearly marked gluten-free. All celiacs need to be wary of any food ingredient label that includes unidentified natural flavors, because they may include some form of gluten. When in doubt, go without!

  8. jackie mitchell says:

    I’m very confused about Mc Donalds now as i was under the immpression that their burgers and fries were gluten free , i have now found out that there isn’t a really clear answer , this has all arisen since part of my lip swells after eating a quarter pounder with of course no bun but with big mac sauce so i started to make enquire’s but still confused. Could anyone give me some clear answers please !!.

  9. Kim says:

    I am self-dignosed. I had the testing and it was negative. HOWEVER, I have massive stomach pain and gas, fibro and am def in several vitamins including Vitamins b-12, & D. I have had joint pain also for 8 years.
    I have been on GF diet for 6 weeks and feel so much better, went to McDonald for my son, I ordered an unsweetened Ice tea, with my Stevia and had 6-8 of his fries. I have been in bed all afternoon with stomach pain and gas and bloating. I will NEVER go there again, my kids can eat something or anything else than that crap!

  10. Darlene Allen says:

    I think it stinks McDonald’s cares more about a lawsuit than making it easier for their customers to eat there, no one in my family will eat at McDonalds again

  11. Terri says:

    I’m a pretty sensitive celiac and I’m able to tolerate McDonald’s chocolate shake WITH whipped cream and a cherry! This is a big treat for me. When my family eats fast food, I don’t have to feel left out. I just make myself a salad at home and enjoy it with a yummy milkshake from Micky D’s!

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>