Do you get that warm & fuzzy feeling when you find out a product is certified gluten-free? It is one thing to see “gluten-free” on the outside of a package, but to see that “certified gluten-free” by either the GFCO or another third party certification organization (more on that in another post) just makes my day! Popchips became officially certified by the GFCO in August 2011. They were always made without gluten, but now there is that extra level of comfort for those who are sensitive to even the smallest amounts of gluten.
our popped chips are not made with any gluten ingredients and, as of august 2011, we’re happy to say that popchips have been officially certified by the gluten-free certification organization (http://www.gluten.net/); a program of the gluten intolerance group®, also known as gig®. look for the gf symbol on popchips’ bags in stores soon! we’re in the process of changing over our packaging to include this certification so there’s a chance you’ll find bags that do not have the symbol printed on the bag – but if they have a “best by” date of august 2012 or later, they are definitely gluten-free. snack on.
Popchips have always been a favorite gluten-free snack of mine, and I see now that they have a brand new flavor in their line-up: Sweet potato! I can predict that I will be putting these in my cart in the very near future! The other flavors include:
- Sour cream -D
- BBQ –D
- Sea salt & vinegar
- Sweet potato
- Parmesan & garlic-D
- Cheddar- D
- Chili lime
- Salt & pepper
Popchips don’t contain nuts, but some of the flavors do contain dairy. Those flavors are clearly labeled in the store and I place a “D” next to the name above. The original, sea salt & vinegar, salt & pepper, jalapeño, chili lime and sweet potato popchips are vegan and the rest of the flavors are vegetarian.