Since I just wrote a post last week on gluten-free Easter candy, I wanted to make sure to get this information right out to our readers. Jelly Belly has issued a recall on some of their Easter candy due to it being labeled incorrectly. Please read below for more information from Food Safety News:
Jelly Belly Candy Co. of Fairfield, CA has recalled Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix “Gluten Free” candies because the malted milk balls may contain wheat.
The recall is for 2.7 oz. bags with UPC 071567992794; Lot codes 111111, 111215, and 120120; best before January 11, 2013, February 15, 2013 and March 20, 2013 respectively.
The candy assortment was distributed nationwide. Go here for a distribution list for California.
For more information contact Jelly Belly customer service at 800-323-9380, Monday through Friday 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST.
While it says that the candy was distributed nationwide, it only gives a list of locations for California in the article above. I want to thank Jules of Jules Gluten Free for getting this information out on Twitter yesterday, and also pointing out that malted milk balls usually contain barley malt, so they would not be considered gluten-free.
This is just another example of how important it is to be vigilant with label reading. I know I say this all of the time, but I even find myself forgetting at times when it is a product that I am familiar with. It is also important for those just starting out on their gluten-free journey to learn how important this is.