Review: Eban’s Bakehouse Pies
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

Dec 26 2013

Review: Eban’s Bakehouse Pies

Christmas Eve I was scrambling to get everything done.  Procrastination was the name of the game this year, as in many years past.  I stopped by Raisin Rack, my local health food store, to pick up a last minute gift and browse the gluten-free baking aisle for a mix or dessert to bring to Christmas dinner the following day.  As I turned to head towards the gluten-free mixes, I passed by a refrigerated cooler full of pies from Eban Bakehouse.  I stopped in my tracks and grabbed a fresh gluten-free pecan pie and a gluten-free sugar cream pie.  Dessert was instantly solved!

2013-12-25 14.19.56

2013-12-25 14.20.00

The pies were a big hit for both the gluten-free and non-gluten-free crowd.  The Sugar Cream pie was new-to-me and was much like a custard with crust.  It tasted spectacular and disappeared quickly.  The Pecan Pie was equally as delicious, though I managed to come home with a couple of pieces.  I can’t wait to dive into those leftovers later today.

2013-12-25 11.30.50

2013-12-25 11.31.02

The pies cost $12.99/each and while smaller than the average pie, they were able to be cut into 8 pieces. 

2013-12-25 14.24.07

More about Eban Bakehouse:

Éban’s Bakehouse is the creation of Eric Braddock and Adrienne Novak, both professional chefs with over forty years of combined experience. Our story is a simple one—we both have a passion for excellent food, prepared with care and craft using the best and purest ingredients possible. We believe food should nourish the body, delight the palette, and inspire the mind and spirit. Together, we have embraced a mission to enable people with wheat and gluten allergies (or a desire to live gluten-free) to enjoy the very best tasting, finest quality breads and baked goods.

Éban’s products are so shockingly delicious that you’ll hardly believe—let alone notice—that they are 100 percent gluten-free. Giving up gluten no longer has to mean sacrificing taste, texture, quality, and variety. The Éban’s motto is simple, yet bold, and it comes to life in everything we do:

No Gluten. No Regrets.

Eban Bakehouse products can be found in select stores, farmer’s markets, restaurants, hotels and establishments throughout the Midwest.  I haven’t had the opportunity to try any of their other offerings, but hope to in the near future.  Some of those offerings include various breads and cookies, some of which can be purchased online

If you have a chance to try any of the Eban Bakehouse products, go for it and please let us know what you think!

Article Written by:

Kimberly Bouldin is a gluten-free wife, runner & blogger with two children in Columbus, Ohio. After her celiac diagnosis in 2006, she has made it her mission to embrace an entirely new approach to nutrition in a gluten-free world, exploring options that run the gamut from "made from scratch" homemade bread to sampling and reviewing the gluten-free prepared foods that are continuously being introduced to the market. While navigating the waters of becoming gluten-free, Kim shares her experiences and passes along valuable product reviews in addition to helping other moms of celiac kids develop healthy menus that are kid-friendly and palatable. Kimberly is a valuable resource for those who are newly diagnosed, as well as for the more seasoned gluten-free veterans. Follow Kim on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>