Review: Omission Lager & Pale Ale
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

May 2 2012

Review: Omission Lager & Pale Ale

I love that gluten-free beer choices have really grown this past year.  It seemed like there were only a few gluten-free beers to choose from for the longest time, but now I can think of at least 8-10!  I love having choices, as I know many others do, too.  The newest beers that I have had the opportunity to sample come from the Widmer Brothers in Portland, Oregon – Omission Beer.

Omission Lager 7 BottleOmission Pale Ale 7 Bottle

Omission Beer has both a Lager and Pale Ale.  They are the first craft beer brand in the United States focused on brewing great tasting craft beers with traditional ingredients, including malted barley.  Now, I know what you are thinking – barley is not gluten-free.  The beer is specially crafted be be gluten-free and is tested using the R5 Competitive ELISA test to contain below the international standard of 20ppm.  Not only do they test the beer, but they send it out to be tested by a third party to ensure the beer is gluten-free.  Watch this short video for more information:

If you are still concerned about the beer, you can view your bottle’s test results by entering the code on your bottle on the Omission Beer website.  Pretty cool, huh?  More about the beers:

Pale Ale: Bold and hoppy, Omission Pale Ale is a hop-forward American Pale Ale, brewed to showcases the cascade hop profile. Amber in color, Omission Pale Ale’s floral aroma is complimented by caramel malt body, making for a delicious gluten-free craft beer.

Lager: Omission Lager is a refreshing and crisp beer, brewed in the traditional lager style. Perfect for a variety of beer drinking occasions, Omission Lager’s aromatic hop profile offers a unique, easy-drinking gluten-free beer for those looking for a lighter and approachable beer style.

How is the gluten removed from Omission Beer?

Omission beer is brewed with malted barley, but we’ve developed a proprietary process to remove the gluten.

So, what did I think?  The Pale Ale a rich, full-bodied beer with lots of character.  I really enjoyed it on its own, but it would be the perfect accompaniment to a gluten-free bacon cheeseburger.  The Lager was a little lighter in color and flavor.  It reminds me more of a traditional domestic beer.  I paired the Lager with grilled chicken and brown rice, but could see enjoying it with a gluten-free pizza, too.  What a great way to enjoy the end of a long, hot day!

Unfortunately Omission Beer is only available in Oregon right now.  It really is a shame because I have to say that these are some of the better gluten-free beers that I have sampled.  I really hope that they are able to expand their distribution across the US in the near future!

***The samples reviewed in this post were sent to me free of charge.  The opinions shared here are mine and have not been influenced by anyone or anything.

Article Written by:

Kimberly Bouldin is a gluten-free wife, runner & blogger with two children in Columbus, Ohio. After her celiac diagnosis in 2006, she has made it her mission to embrace an entirely new approach to nutrition in a gluten-free world, exploring options that run the gamut from "made from scratch" homemade bread to sampling and reviewing the gluten-free prepared foods that are continuously being introduced to the market. While navigating the waters of becoming gluten-free, Kim shares her experiences and passes along valuable product reviews in addition to helping other moms of celiac kids develop healthy menus that are kid-friendly and palatable. Kimberly is a valuable resource for those who are newly diagnosed, as well as for the more seasoned gluten-free veterans. Follow Kim on Twitter!

Related Posts

Comments

  1. KBS says:

    Have you ever tried Prairie Path Golden Ale from Two Brothers? It is also brewed with barley, and has had the gluten “de-natured”, and tests to below 5ppm. Here’s a link to some questions & answers about it–it’s really great stuff!

    http://www.twobrosbrew.com/gluten.htm

    • Sarah says:

      KBS – For proteins, ‘denatured’ just means they unfolded. The point of the enzyme they are using is to break the protein into smaller pieces. However, there have been studies that show that the ELISA tests underestimates the gluten content in fermented products.

      Also, as someone with experience on the bench… These reactions never go to completion.

  2. Victor Dolcourt says:

    I’m really confused about barley-based gluten removed beer. There is information “out there” but some of it is in contradiction. I’ve read the information that Omission has posted on their website also what Estrella Damm has posted (both are gluten-removed beers). I’ve also read what Scott Adams from Celiac.com has said. They contradict. Take a look at this information from MoreBeer.com: http://morebeer.com/content/Hordein_Protein . Bottom line: I’m not sure what to believe.

  3. Niloc says:

    Found at Total Wine in Reno, Nv on 7-12-12.

  4. J.J. says:

    I tried the Omission Pale Ale. The flavor was phenomenal. However, before I had even finished draining the bottle, I began to have a reaction. I ended up being sick for two days.

    I waited a few weeks and tried a second bottle, to ensure that the first experience was exclusively due to the beer. Same reaction, same 48 hours of auto-immune hell.

    I do not recommend this beer for anyone with moderate-to-severe gluten intolerance or Celiac patients.

  5. More information has come in about testing food and drink that has been fermented-like Omission Beer. Trisha Thompson has a website that explains that testing fermented products is difficult and can lead to misstating the gluten in these products. See https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/blog.php?id=8 . JJ, it is possible that even though Omission was tested by a laboratory the test was inconclusive and the beer is not gluten free. Nobody knows for sure at this time. The Federal Tax, Tobacco and Trade Bureau regulates labeling of alcoholic products sold across state lines, and they say that beer (or other fermented beverages) made from gluten-containing products cannot be labeled gluten-free (because they cannot be tested at this time). See Tricia’s blog dated July 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to Gravatar.com and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>