These days at seems like a Subway restaurant is about as difficult to find as a McDonald’s restaurant! I seriously have 4 Subway restaurants within one mile of my workplace (not joking!).
Wouldn’t it be great if Subway offered gluten free foods? Unfortunately, as their focus is on bread and the insane amount of cross-contamination possibilities, we are pretty much out of luck.
According to my research, Subway’s official menu page on their website contains an allergy chart (PDF) which anyone can download. A quick browsing over the most current version of the document shows that many of the salads appear to be gluten free. With the exceptions of the the Seafood Sensation, Meatball Marinara, and Sweet Onion Teriyaki Chicken, all the other salads are safe (assuming their of careful to avoid cross-contamination).
If you decide to try a Subway salad, you’ll want to make sure you tell them to hold the croutons. Oh, and as for the salad dressings, the only one which appears to contain gluten is the “Atkins Sweet as Honey Mustard,” so you’ll want to avoid that as well!
Have you ever tried eating at a Subway since being diagnosed with Celiac Disease?
UPDATE 1-12-11: Read about Subway’s gluten-free test market program in part of Texas by clicking here!