Do you chew a lot of gum? If you are, chances are you may have an interest in Wrigley’s gums or Altoids, but are these products gluten free?
Gluten Free Steve recently contacted Wrigley in an effort to determine which of their products are in fact gluten free and safe for someone with Celiac Disease to consume. Here is the response he was given:
Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products. The following is a list of U.S. Wrigley products that remain free of any wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten: Wrigley’s Spearmint® gum, Freedent® gum, Doublemint® gum, Extra® gum, Big Red® gum, Eclipse® gum, Juicy Fruit® gum, Winterfresh® gum, Orbit® gum, Orbit® White gum, Lifesavers® Altoids® and 5® products. Please note that Altoids Chocolate Dipped mints carry a warning that the product is made on equipment that also processes milk and wheat. If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten, several of our brands contain corn syrup, which may have trace amounts of corn gluten in it. The amount of gluten in one stick is less than 0.2 milligrams, but if you are extremely sensitive, you may want to consult with your physician before chewing our brands Additionally, no packaging material directly next to our product contains gluten sources. There may be instances when starches are used on the label around each individual stick of gum, but these starches are produced from corn or potatoes, not from wheat, rye, barley, oats, millet or buckwheat. We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.
Great work Steve!