McDonald's Gluten Free Menu - Celiac Disease
Dec 1 2008

McDonald's Gluten Free Menu

Have you noticed a McDonald’s on every street corner in your area? Most people seem to take McDonalds for granted, but for someone with celiac disease, if you are traveling or stuck out in public for whatever reason, having McDonald’s gluten-free menu nearby can be very beneficial and reassuring.

In my experience, they are probably one of the best gluten-free restaurants because they are everywhere and they are great about disclosing ingredients on their official website.  This allows you to have options if you are stuck in situation where you don’t have any gluten-free foods with you.

Although this is subject to change, here is the most current list of McDonald’s gluten-free items for your reference:

Update:  Due to the large number of questions regarding McDonald’s french fries and hashbrowns, we removed them from our list and addressed these questions in this post: Are french fries gluten-free? For McDonald’s specifically, make sure to read the comments for answers to your questions!

McDonald’s Gluten-Free Menu Items

  • Apple Juice
  • Coffee
  • Hot Chocolate
  • 1% Low Fat Milk, White or Chocolate
  • Orange Juice
  • Soft Drinks
  • Chocolate Triple Thick® Shake
  • Strawberry Triple Thick® Shake
  • Vanilla Triple Thick® Shake
  • Condiments/Sauces
  • Butter
  • Chicken McNugget® Honey
  • Chicken McNugget® Hot Mustard Sauce
  • Hotcake Syrup
  • Jam
  • Ketchup
  • Lettuce
  • Margarine
  • Mayonnaise
  • Mustard
  • Onions
  • Pickles
  • Tartar Sauce
  • Tomato
  • Apple Dippers and Low Fat Caramel Dip
  • American Cheese
  • Beef Patty (no bun)
  • Breakfast Beef Steak
  • Canadian Bacon
  • Fruit ‘n Yogurt Parfait (no granola)
  • Ice Cream Sundaes including nuts
  • McFlurry® with M&M’S® Candies
  • Sausage
  • Scrambled Egg
  • Caesar Salad w/o Chicken
  • Side Salad
  • Newman’s Own® Creamy Caesar Dressing
  • Newman’s Own® Cobb Dressing
  • Newman’s Own® Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Newman’s Own® Ranch Dressing
  • Newman’s Own® Salsa

In summary, side salads, fries, condiments, and many of the drinks are safe to eat; however, you’ll always want to remember to check McDonald’s official website for changes in ingredients before dining out.

Article Written by:

Kyle Eslick is the founder of Gluten Free Media, as well as the creator of the popular Celiac Support Groups page. Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and now Google+!


  1. Teya says:

    McDonald’s hashbrowns are not gluten free. Careful.

    • Steve says:

      Your right Teya. It is listed right on their website ingredient list.

    • Kyle Eslick says:

      Yes, that is true, however I don’t believe Hashbrowns were included in the above list.

      People also need to be careful and avoid french fries as they used to be gluten-free, but aren’t any longer.

      • Adelaide Carey says:

        really aren’t they? how do you know? OH NO!

      • Christine says:

        Yes I found out the hard way that they are not gluten free anymore… sucks I loved their fries.

        • Paul S says:

          Good Morning

          Mc Donlads is not GLUTEN FREE I spoke with the corporate office about two weeks ago and I was told that they do not serve Gluten Free and if something was to be gluten free it would get cross contaminated because of the other foods being placed on the work tables so be very careful

          A lot of people think that chicken turkey are fine but they are not

      • Alan says:

        They may have been gluten free prior to cooking.After being cooked in the oil in the deep fryer ,they are no longer gluten free.They have been contaminated buy the breaded fish filets and turnovers that have been deep the same oil.These companies need to be educated what gluten is and how contamination is prevented. Don’t be fooled only by the ingredients.

        • melissa says:

          I work at mcdonalds. our French fries and hashbrowns do not go in the same fryers as chicken/fish products that are fried. turnovers are not fried, they are baked in an oven. The fries and hasbrowns do not give me hives when I eat them either. However, cross contamination can happen between grilled and fried products on the assembly table. So always use best judgement. But trust me, it is very possible to eat gluten free at mickey d’s. [:

        • Gloria Clayton says:

          I asked the manager of our McDonalds about these issues. He says meat and fish are cooked in the fryer in the kitchen and ONLY the French fries are cooked in the front fryer.
          I do not see how chicken nuggets that are battered can be gluten free.

        • alyce says:

          fries and hash browns are cooked in designated fryers so there is absolutely no chance of cross contamination that way. also there is no longer fried pies/turnovers at mcdonalds. all pies are baked. living with celiac is hard enough without having to sift through information to separate fact from fiction. please research before spreading inaccurate
          info… the reason fries are not gluten free is because they are flash cooked in oil that is not gluten free prior to freezing and shipment.. before they ever hit a restaurant they have been cross contaminated….

          • Megan says:

            I wonder why so many of us have not reacted to the fries? Actually I have yet to speak with a GF person that has reacted to the fries.

      • Melisa says:

        Everyone has different sensitivities, I suppose, because I break out in aggressive episodes of hives and large blister-looking bumps when I consume gluten (among other common symptoms like gastroinstestinal problems, headaches, etc…) but I’ve eaten McDonald’s fries several times without any sort of reaction. I’ve eaten a hashbrown once, too, although it was long ago and I don’t remember if I had a reaction or not.

        My location is Canada. I’m not sure if that changes anything.

    • Adelaide says:

      This message isnt for TEYA, i didn’t want to create an account.

      Are you aware that ALOT of this infomation is incorrect?
      for example: M&Ms have never been gluten free. the all of the ice creams and shakes and flavourings contain traces, not all sauces are gluten free (sweet and sour), just to name a few. if your a true celiac then you cant have even the taste of these. So please be careful. i was told things like about the hashbrowns and i was crook and off work for a week. Please be aware of all the false infomation out there!

      • Joanna says:

        Adelaide~ M&M’s are gluten free i am not sure where you heard they weren’t

        • Kate says:

          In Australia, M&Ms are not gluten free, they have wheat starch in the shell. Smarties are worse as they have wheat flower in the shell. I react much worse to wheat flour.

      • Ruth says:

        Yes, M&Ms are gluten free. As a matter of fact a lot of chocolate candy is gluten free. The prob is cross contamination. But when you really think about it, everything us celiacs eat can be contaminated. We just have to becareful. But a TRUE celiac, as adelaide puts it lol would probably not be able to eat chocolate anyway, due to the milk, at least for a while. What is a true celiac anyway??? lol

        • Tabby says:

          Ruth, a “true” celiac doesn’t HAVE to have an aversion to milk. It’s totally unrelated. Do your research.

          • Anthon says:

            There is such a thing as cross reactions. Milk is one of the potential cross reactors in gluten sensitive individuals.

          • Tim Frohlick says:

            Many celiacs also suffer from lactose intolerance. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease exacerbated by gluten ingestion.

            • Tammy says:

              Tim, you are correct and have suffered with lactose issues for over teo years/related to my being celiac.

              • Cassie says:

                I don’t know if you realize this, but most diagnoses of “lactose intolerance” are not truly an intolerance to lactose but are actually a sensitivity to a protein caused by the homogenization process. You may still be able to drink milk that is not homogenized, particularly goat milk, without problems. This is one of the reasons why we keep our own dairy goats.

            • Tammy says:

              I look forward to the day when I can just take a daily pill and not have to worry about what I eat anymore. What a blessing that will be.

              • Andy says:

                There is a pill located at your health stores like Zorrbos called Glutenesse does work very well.

                • Kaely says:

                  How would you know if such a pill is actually preventing intestinal damage even if you’re not experiencing symptoms? I would warn against such things as a person with Celiac Disease can still have damage and therefore inhibited vitamin and mineral absorption even without pain.

          • Kate says:

            Many celiacs are also lactose intolerant because of the damage to the small gut lining, which is where lactase is produced. Thus, aversion to milk IS related to celiac in many cases.

          • alyce says:

            after being diagnosed with celiac you are told that until villi heal you are lactose intolerant, as lactose will not allow villi to regrow… yes please research, its important!!

        • Gluten Free Ree says:

          Yes many candies are GF. Most of Tootsie Roll products and Nestles’ is GF and will note wheat or gluten as an allergen on the package, but Hersheys is not becuase they do not protect against cross-contamination, and have published that. Also anything Balsamic is not GF. Thanks for the info, good to know I can still get a shake or a salad, Coffee and eggs at Mickey Ds!!!

          • Marty says:

            Please check the safe and unsafe lists at or before posting things that you don’t know. Balsamic vinegar most certainly IS gluten free.

      • Coastal says:

        This is the kind of stuff that makes finding good information harder than it needs to be. Don’t throw facts out that aren’t true. M&Ms don’t contain gluten!

      • Joel says:

        Eating out for most people with celiac is risky. The food restaurants serve may be gluten free but then may get contaminated. As a rule I avoid restaurants with some exceptions like a pizza place I patronize on account of their well-trained staff and a dedicated place for preparing and cooking their pizzas. Besides, the owner has a personal interest in seeing the food being served as “gluten free” is what it’s advertised to be: his son has celiac.

  2. Joan says:

    Yes, but condiments don’t make a meal…you can’t get full on that inadequte ingredient list. I just avoid places that don’t have a real ‘gluten-free menu’

    • Ruth says:

      I know, rite??? thats exactly what i was goin to say. Ok so the syrup is gf, what the freak are you suppose to eat with the syrup exactly??? lol thats to funny. If you ask me, the way to be safest is to eat at hm, at least you know everything that you are puttin in. If i know im goin to be in town for a while, i take somthing along for me to eat, and if im caught in town unexpectedly, then i just wait. So you go a few hours being hungry, sure beats a few days of extreme pain and suffering!!!

      • kayla says:

        well… you could mix the syrup with the ketchup… BAHAHAHA

        • Paula Williams says:

          Wow if you only want condiments to eat you sure do have a lot of items that are gluten free on your menu. Due to more accurate and new testing, I think you will be seeing more and more people coming into your restaurants needing gluten free diets. My daughter and I both were recently diagnosed. Please look into adding more items to your menu or possibly finding a gluten free bun. I know it would be delicious if it came from McDonalds. Thank you, Paula Williams

  3. Jill says:

    mcdonalds sausage is NOT gluten free! i went on the mcdonalds website and it has MSG!!!!

    • Barb says:

      Yeah I get real sic k on MSG like product so often these gluten free lists mean nothing to me.

      • Blake says:

        MSG or monosodium glutamate is gluten free. It is a salt like spice, not made from wheat, rye or barley. If you get the same symptoms after eating it, you have a msg sensitivity. Many people do as it is toxic in large doses. Just an fyi.

        • Ruth says:

          Um, nope!!! MSG has gluten in it. U would be amazed at thw list of things that have gluten in them. Do your research. Even certain brands of toilet paper, tampons and maxi pads have gluten. Things u would never think.

          • Letty says:

            From what I’ve read, MSG made in America is gluten free, MSG made outside the states you have to be careful of, as part of the making could involve gluten. That being said, MSG can carry it’s own slew of reactions (my father can’t touch it, he’s not a celiac, I can eat it and I’m a celiac). I think it’s more of a personal thing.

          • Marty says:

            Ruth, you should do your research. Please check the safe and unsafe lists at or before posting things that you don’t know. MSG most certainly IS gluten free.

            Just a suggestion, don’t eat toilet paper or maxipads whether they’re gluten free or not.

          • Mary says:

            I just realized the Lemon & Aloe Ecover dish detergent has wheat proteins in it. Other Ecover dish soaps dont contain it so it came as a big surprise and disappointment. I think the should be required to list items that come in contact with your food as gluten free on the front label where you can see it.

          • alyce says:

            Monosodium glutamate is a controversial additive to many processed foods. It is an amino acid that enhances foods’ flavor, but may cause adverse reactions in sensitive people. Monosodium glutamate may sound like gluten, and is often an ingredient in foods containing gluten, but it alone is not related to gluten.


        • janice says:

          MSG is gluten , you need to research the celiac and wheat allergy diet. It clearly states that MSG contains wheat.

          • alycea says:

            Monosodium glutamate is a controversial additive to many processed foods. It is an amino acid that enhances foods’ flavor, but may cause adverse reactions in sensitive people. Monosodium glutamate may sound like gluten, and is often an ingredient in foods containing gluten, but it alone is not related to gluten.

            you are spreading lies. please research before giving opinions.

    • Jess says:

      uhm, well MSG isnt an ingredient that affects people with Celiac Disease.

    • Alan says:

      I’m not sure about this and would like to know myself.Doe’s all Monosodium Glutamate have gluten in it?I bought Zatarain’s Dirty Rice Mix and on the front of the box it say’s Gluten FREE.Could they have made a mistake.I too was told Monosodium Glutamate had Gluten in it.

      • paul says:

        I believe it does have gluten from what I read
        besides McDonald really does not have anything Gluten free even the work table is contaminated I was told that by a General Manager from The Brighton Store

        • barb says:

          you just need to make sure they wipe down all surfaces prior to making your food (including grill) we do this for several of our customers to ensure there safety now i will be one doing this daily

      • alyce says:

        Monosodium glutamate is a controversial additive to many processed foods. It is an amino acid that enhances foods’ flavor, but may cause adverse reactions in sensitive people. Monosodium glutamate may sound like gluten, and is often an ingredient in foods containing gluten, but it alone is not related to gluten.

    • alyce says:

      actually it is gluten free…

      Monosodium glutamate is a controversial additive to many processed foods. It is an amino acid that enhances foods’ flavor, but may cause adverse reactions in sensitive people. Monosodium glutamate may sound like gluten, and is often an ingredient in foods containing gluten, but it alone is not related to gluten.

      you may be sensitive but that doesn’t make it gluten… research people research!!

  4. Jaz says:

    Jill, monosodium glutamate is NOT gluten. MSG is simply just bad for you, but it is okay for celiacs to eat food with it.

    • Kris says:

      MSG is not bad for you. Those claims have never been backed up by any real science.

      • Cameron says:

        MSG can is an excitotoxin. It is near as bad as any made made chemical, including table salt.

        It causes inflammation, especially in the elderly or those with compromised immune systems. If any food by product can hurt any one with a sensitive immune system, it is truly bad for all. Gluten is also not natural and is extremely dangerous in ingested often. Our lymphatic system and liver are in constant battle with these above products.

        • Joanna says:

          Thank you Tiffany that helps a lot! another question for you what do you do on the holidays for company if you do not want them to know about your celiac disease and they keep prying?

        • keith says:

          Mushrooms contain glutamic acid, a natural version of the flavor enhancer monosodium glutamate (MSG). Unlike MSG, the natural occurring glutamic acid does not have a high sodium content It is in most protein based items(meat…) but did you know
          In the 1970s, reluctant food processors “voluntarily” took processed free glutamic acid (MSG) out of baby food. Today it’s back, in fertilizers called “Omega Protein Refined/Hydrolyzed Fish Emulsion” and “Steam Hydrolyzed Feather Meal,” both of which contain hydrolyzed proteins; and in a product called AuxiGro WP Plant Metabolic Primer (AuxiGro) produced by Emerald BioAgriculture (formerly Auxein Corporation), which contains both hydrolyzed protein(s) and “monosodium glutamate.” AuxiGro is being sprayed on some of the vegetables we and our children will eat, into the air we and our children must breath, and onto the ground from which it can move into drinking water. Head lettuce, leaf lettuce, tomatoes, potatoes, and peanuts were among the first crops targeted.

          MSG is naturally in our foods, but the MSG in your chips is not, we have receptors in us.

    • Barb says:

      That is why when I eat it I feel like I ate rat poison. It has gluten in it as is in it’s name.

      • Lew says:

        Barb, no. MSG does NOT contain gluten. You may react badly to it, but it’s not because of any gluten content, I assure you.

        • Barb says:

          Sorry it is the same as when I eat gluten. I have lists from the web that says it is related and my doc would tell you too. She seen the results of when I eat MSGluten.

          This is not accurate data and I am guessing put out by those who sell MSG and it is bad. It is an exiotoxin.

          Mono sodium Glutamate. It is even in the name.

          I go my the Celics lists that lists it and it works. You may not be as bad as I am in regards to gluten so it does not effect you. It comes in different degrees.

          I was just reading about that.

          • Lew says:

            I’m sorry, this is the last thing I will say on this. You are getting very bad info from someone. Your web resources stating that MSG contains gluten are incorrect, and if your doctor says the same thing, she is wrong. I don’t doubt that you have similar reactions to it. But having 4 of the same letters in one of its words does not make it the same. You are just getting some bad info. Not your fault.

            • Barb says:


              I am sorry you have the wrong info.

              Celiac Sprue is a disease involving the intestines and it is extremely important to avoid gluten containing foods like wheat, rye, oats, and barley to prevent further damage to the absorptive cells lining the intestinal walls. A veterinarian, recently diagnosed with celiac disease, has developed a theory about how celiac disease and the excitatory neurotransmitters glutamic acid and aspartic acid play a role in the damage caused by this disease. We have recently found that many persons who report a sensitivity to MSG also report an inability to tolerate wheat products in general. This seems an odd coincidence until we realize that, grain products have been bred to contain more and more gluten which is very high in the amount of glutamic acid bound into its protein chains. This fact figures prominently in this veterinarian’s theory on why wheat can be such a problem for many people, and why, perhaps, it wasn’t meant to be in our diet in the first place. See:

              MSG is on the list of foods for celiac patients to avoid. Wheat is such a good source of glutamic acid, as is soy, and corn, that MSG is often made from these foods.

              Celiac patients also are often diagnosed with multiple food allergies. The celiac diet is a difficult diet, but there are other alternative grains to use, and several books and websites that provide gluten-free help.


              Wheat gluten is the protein part of the wheat kernel. It naturally contains a high percentage of glutamate, which is an amino acid. Some food processors isolate it and turn it into a powder that they sell to add to bread recipes since it makes for a larger and fluffier loaf. They also use wheat gluten to make hydrolyzed protein, a meat substitute…they use soybeans for that, too. MSG is different. It’s almost pure glutamic acid with sodium added to make it a salt form. I’m probably confusing you! It guess it would be easier to just say that both wheat gluten and MSG contain glutamate. I remember Jack Samuels trying to explain the difference to me once.




              Some MSG is derived from wheat. Other times it is derived from corn, soybeans, etc, but MSG derived from wheat can cause reactions in gluten intolerant individuals.


              So it looks like we are both right. Depends on what it is made from. Also I could be allergic to more than one thing but I know damn well it feels the same to me when I eat it.

              So it depends on the person. I just did the research on this.

              • Tiffany Janes says:

                Every celiac diet expert I’ve asked agrees that MSG is not made from gluten ingredients and at least in the U.S. it is most definitely gluten-free. If might not be that great for anyone, but it’s gluten-free either way.

            • RUTH says:

              You have got to be the dumbest person in the world lmao. all i gots to say is do your reasearch!!!! BARB, you are so right!!!

              • Barb says:

                I have not been here in a long time. Right I get as sick on MSG as gluten. Maybe a few can eat it but I posted my info and I stand by it.

                Many people want to stand by what they believe in and not get the facts. I run into it when I did activism for the Resource Based Economy Model. I have learned to move on when people don’t ant to look at the whys and proof.

                Thank you.

          • derek says:

            ive been diagnosed with cealtic disease and been having trouble with what has gluten in it, any helpful tips?

            • Tiffany Janes says:

              If you don’t have Shelley Case’s book ( yet, then get it. If you try to find all the info in that book online you’ll never be able to compile it all. At least not accurately. It’s 20 years of research in one guide. Until I got my copy I didn’t know the truth about blue cheese, vinegar or grain alcohol – and about a hundred other things. Without question that is the guide to learn what is and is not gluten-free. It takes about six months to a year to truly learn the diet. That part is hard, no doubt. But once you know what you’re doing, it’s just second nature to you. Good luck!

              • Laura says:

                Grain alcohol is supposed to be on the “ok” list for celiac/gluten intolerants. Research has shown that the gluten peptide is too large to pass through the distillation process. However, I have read on other blogs that grain alcohol (made from wheat) makes some of us ill with gluten-type symptoms.

                I went gluten free in 2003, and have been unable to tolerate grain alcohol in any amount. I get just as sick as if I’d eaten regular bread. Just a warning for those “new” to the lifestyle. Be careful out there!

          • Melissa says:

            Barb you are driving me crazy. “They people who sell MSG” REALLY.

          • Marty says:

            Just because the letters glut are in a word, doesn’t indicate gluten. Your gluteus maximus does NOT have gluten in it. People, go to reputable celiac websites to research things. Stop listening to bloggers and postings and, above all, stop guessing!!!! Get your heads out of your gluteus maximus!!!!!

          • alyce says:

            Monosodium glutamate is a controversial additive to many processed foods. It is an amino acid that enhances foods’ flavor, but may cause adverse reactions in sensitive people. Monosodium glutamate may sound like gluten, and is often an ingredient in foods containing gluten, but it alone is not related to gluten.

            almost accurate lol you may have a sensitivity to msg but IT IS NOT GLUTEN. please people research. you are spreading opinions not facts…

  5. anonymous says:

    MSG stands for mono sodium glutamate (sp?), so in Jill’s defense, it could contain gluten

    • scientist-recently diagnosed with Celiac says:

      MSG has nothing to do with gluten. Glutamate is another name for glutamic acid, which is a non-essential amino acid, and has nothing to do with gluten. It is, however, a neurotransmitter, and especially when complexed with sodium (ie monosodium glutamate=MSG) it can cause bad reactions in some people when consumed.

      Bottom line: MSG does not contain any gluten, but you may have a bad reaction to it for different reasons.

      The more you know 🙂

      • Lisa Poelvoorde says:

        I have a booklet that i brought from HY-Vee. It a pocket dictionary “Acceptability of Foods & Food Ingredients for the Gluten-Free Diet”- Canadian Celiac Association. Its says here, ” A flavor enhancer produced through fermentation of molasses from sugar cane or suger beets. A small precentage of the general population may have a reaction to MSG which is unrelated to gluten.” I do not remember which book i have that i study about sausage. We do need to be caution about eating sausage because some sausage do have gluten in it.

      • Marilyn S. says:


        Some of the same words used to conceal MSG also contain gluten. Hydrolyzed soy protein, for example.

        • Lew says:

          Hydrolyzed soy protein does not contain gluten either. This is just bad information and might scare people further.

          • Jackie says:

            Why is MSG listed as questionable in the glossary of the CSA product guide? My son has an acute reaction to gluten but has never had a visible reaction to MSG. I have questioned his behavior after ingesting MSG but he is 9 so I guess his behavior is always questionable!

            • Tiffany Janes says:

              Jackie – Like Lew, I am also tired of talking about MSG so this is my last comment about it here. It’s quite unfortunate that the CSA seems to be a bit behind the times on several issues regarding what is and is not gluten-free. That is why many support groups around the U.S. switched from being charters of the CSA and hooked up with GIG ( instead. In my “Ask the Expert” interview with Shelley Case ( whose book EVERYONE on the gluten-free diet needs to read, she explained several gluten-free myths. She covered MSG and confirmed it’s gluten-free. The article is in the fall 2010 issue of Delight gluten-free Magazine (

              Tricia Thompson just posted a thorough explanation of what MSG IS gluten-free. You can read it here –

              • Dawn Dauenbaugh says:

                I’ve been reading your comments and you seem to know alot about Celiac’s and gluten free living. I’m very new to the disease and I’ve heard contrary opions about chicken. I’ve been told that Walmart injects their chicken with gluten and I’ve called local poultry places and they won’t answer me directly about whether their chicken is gluten free but just to tell me to buy Bell & Evan’s chicken. Do you know the real answer on this?

                • Tiffany Janes says:

                  Hi Dawn and welcome to the gluten-free world! Ok – about chicken. It’s almost impossible to find chicken that has wheat starch injected into it. It was more common about five years ago and I once had a restaurant bring out a box that had contained their chicken breasts and the ingredients listed wheat starch. Due to the laws changing re: labeling wheat in the U.S. in 2006, not many companies use this trick anymore. They might use rice starch or another ingredient that has nothing to do with gluten. As for coasted chicken, yes, you have to look for one that states gluten-free on the package. All others would contain wheat as the flour used in the batter. I’m unclear about why a poultry company would not know whether their product was gluten-free. That seems odd, to say the least. As far as I know, the WalMart chicken breasts are gluten-free but it’s easy to find out if they are or not. ALL forms of grains (which covers all forms of gluten) have to be listed on meat products. That is not the case with packaged items like breaded chicken tenders. Keep in mind that on Bell & Evans products, you need to look for the red gluten-free banner as they make both gluten and gf items.

                  Go to and look for the link on the right side of the page for our getting started on the gf diet page. It takes 6 months to a year to truly learn this diet. Good luck!

          • alycea says:

            exactly! I research a lot and this site has more lies than truths!! craziness!!

    • Ruth says:

      It does contain gluten. Its one of those things, you know like the earth is flat lol imagine how many people argued with the person that said it was round? lol Bottom line, to any and every person with celiacs, stay away from anything that makes you sick. Even if you believe it might make you sick, better to be safe then sorry.

  6. Blair says:

    Chicken mcnuggets contain wheat. What the..?

    • Kyle Eslick says:

      Hi Blair!

      Nowhere does the above list include Chicken McNuggets. It does include “Chicken McNuggets Honey”, etc. 🙂

      • me says:

        Ok, and what exaclty are you suppose to eat with the chicken mcnugget honey??? lol we need a list of gluten free food, not condiments.

    • Gluten Free Ree says:

      Not the nuggets, the nuggets’ dipping sauce is gluten free, maybe you could put it on a meatless, croutonless salad?

  7. anne steib says:

    In the”Ask GFQ” section, Tiffany says that the fries and hash browns are indeed gluten-free, that when tested there is no gluten detected. How do we know which one is correct?

    My daughter was eating them the other day, and wow they smelled good, but I have been too scared to have one. Can I??

    • Kyle Eslick says:


      Fries are a tricky subject. From my understanding, the fries are gluten-free, but many McDonald’s locations don’t maintain a dedicated fryer exclusively for fries/hashbrowns. I have had a problem at one location in our area, but the other two have always been fine, so you’ll want to talk to your local McDonald’s to confirm they maintain a dedicated fryer for their hashbrowns/fries.

      • Jade says:

        Actually McDonald’s official web site has ingredient list, and it says their fries contains WHEAT and MILK. Same as their Chicken Nuggets/

  8. Beth says:

    Is your soft ice cream gluten free and toppings?

  9. Dana says:

    Yes, their french fries have gluten but they have tested them after being cooked and they test as gluten free. My daughter has never had a problem eating their french fries.

    • kathy says:

      According to my daughters dietician, McDonald’s fries are safe because there is less than 20 parts of wheat per million in them. There for its not enough to harm her.

  10. Ann says:

    I have Celiac and there is gluten in the grilled chicken breast due to the breast being injected with preservatives that contained gluten. After the reaction I had to eating one of these grilled chicken salads at McDonald’s ,I’ll never do it again…not worth the pain, etc. I was told by the corporate office that there is gluten in the chicken breast so this is not for someone with Celiac disease!!!

  11. angela says:

    My son has a wheat and peanut allergy. It is severe enough that it has caused neurological problems. Does anyone have a suggestion on the best guide for eating out.

  12. Tammy says:

    is the french fries gluten free?????? Iam gluten free and have eaten the fries and havent had a problem.

    • barb says:

      ok, ive eaten those fries lately and had a reaction. i have to eat gluten free. not sure why, but my guess is it had gluten in it or cross contamination. not chancing it again, word to the wise, if not sure , just dont do it. and better to eat fresh whole ingredients anyway, dont ya think? why i did it, just plain hungry and on the go and lazy, never again

  13. Lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Hi Angela, You had comment: My son has a wheat and peanut allergy. It is severe enough that it has caused neurological problems. Does anyone have a suggestion on the best guide for eating out.
    Last year I was dignoisis Celiac Disease. My most difficult year to know what i can eat out. I would like to add more suggestion besides recommending the Triumph Dining Restaurant Guide as Kyle Eslick suggest you. Let the waitress know your son allergic to wheat and peanuts and what food dont contain these. I know some places have food allergy guide like Arby’s will tell you all food cantains what. Another tip ask for plain grilled, steamed, or boiled meat, vegetables or raw Vegetable and freah Fruit. If going to have salad, best bit bring your own salad dressing.

  14. micksnickety says:

    so, just out of curiosity- i thought that as someone with celiacs- we were supposed to avoid regular vinegar as it is made from grain. how can Mc.Ds say that their mustard and ketchup are gluten free, or Newman’s dressing for that reason?

    • Robert Rodgers says:

      They might be using apple cider or wine vinegar.

    • Tiffany Janes says:

      Distilled vinegar is gluten-free. This was proven maybe ten years ago…the problem is that if you read old info online (or even in a book), you would think that vinegar is off limits on the gluten-free diet. I eat vinegar (made from grains and distilled) every day…it’s gluten-free.

      *For more info about the gluten-free diet from an expert on the subject visit (Shelley Case’s website) Her book should be required reading for anyone on the diet. I recently interviewed her for Delight gluten-free magazine where she debunked several gluten-free myths. One of them was the vinegar issue. ONLY malt vinegar contains gluten, assuming it’s the traditional type made from barley. There are in fact a couple of food companies that use a malt vinegar made from corn. It’s a rare ingredient, but it is out there. Most malt vinegars are not gluten-free.

  15. Christina Thornton says:

    That’s pathetic… I can’t feed my family a bunch of condiments!!!

    My son is allergic to eggs and nuts as are most that have the TOP 8 Allergies: Tree Nuts, Eggs, Milk, Wheat, Peanuts, Fish, Soybeans and Crustacia (Shell Fish).

    McDonalds is huge, I am really disappointed they are not making more strives toward heathier foods. They need to start doing more research and learn about the masses of people who are getting diagnosed Celiac or Gluten Intolerant.

    • resre says:

      Your kid is going to have a hard time through his whole life. He should get used to eating natural foods which as all of us know are not a priority of fast food.
      You should skip McD’s and not get him used to eating fast food to begin with.

  16. Tiffany Janes says:

    MSG is gluten-free but many people don’t tolerate it well if they eat mostly clean (real, not fake foods) once they start the gf diet. That’s what happened to me. I thought I was having issues with corn because I could not eat gf Doritos. Someone told me to eat plain Frito’s and after a few other similar tests, I found out the culprit was MSG. It is gf, by the way.

    Only malt vinegar contains gluten. The others are made from grains but are distilled which renders them gluten-free. The details about this (very old news) is in Shelley Cases must have book

    • Lew says:

      With Doritos, the culprit was probably the modified food starch. I know that at least the nacho cheese flavor contains it.

    • Shah says:

      Did you check the ingredients for the doritos? Because depending on the flavour it could contain gluten! I was reading it the other day when i was in the store… I think the cheddar flavour has wheat and the jalepeno doesnt…or maybe the other way around? Heh
      Just letting you know, it may not have been due to the MSG.

  17. Barb says:

    MSG is Poison to me. It is never ever safe. It is an exiotoxin.

  18. anise says:

    A list of condiments is not a menu…I don’t know why this is even here. If you are eating gluten free, you obviously shouldn’t go to McDonalds

  19. Sara says:

    I love the Southwestern Grilled Chicken Salad. Is the salad okay? I know the Southwestern salad dress is fine and wish that it was available to purchase at your local grocery store.

  20. Tiffany Janes says:

    Barb – unfortunately, MD’s won’t say anything is gf at their restaurants anymore. They want customers to read the ingredients on their website and then decide if it’s safe or not. This way, their massive legal dept. is happy that it would be hard to bring a class action lawsuit against the company for food allergy issues.

  21. diana says:

    last year the owner of my mc d’s checked the bag of frys and it said wheat on it. and he said the hashbrowns would too.

  22. Tiffany Janes says:

    diana – the oil MD’s uses comes into contact with wheat at some point during processing (before it even gets to a restaurant) and it was tested over and over by different labs and shown to be gluten-free. However, once class action lawsuit talk started up in 2006, MD’s removed all the info re: the fries being gluten-free from their website. The company seems to be taking the stance that if consumers can’t understand that products containing traces of gluten can in fact, be rendered gluten-free, they don’t care about having our business. That’s probably a wise decision on their part.

  23. Joanna says:

    Has anyone ever tried to get there double cheeseburger without a bun? and ask them not to even let the bun touch it? i have it is gluten free that way and actually tastes better without the bbun! 🙂 where can i eat that offers a G-free menu?

    • Tiffany Janes says:

      Many mainstream chains now have gluten-free menus. You can google ‘gluten-free menus’ and many will pop up that way. The Triumph Dining guide lists over 6500 U.S. restaurants that cater to gluten-free patrons ( Just keep in mind that just because a place has a gluten-free menu doesn’t mean they know what they are supposed to do in terms of keeping your food safe. It’s unfortunate, but true. You still know what questions to ask in order to get a safe meal. Don’t just go in and order off the gluten-free menu without telling the server (or better yet, the manager) that you are going to get sick if they mess up your meal.

    • Regina says:

      I dont know exactly where you live but Chili’s has a GF menu which has plenty of stuff to choose from not too small

  24. Tiffany Janes says:

    Joanna – I have the opposite problem as I usually talk about celiac too much in an effort to try and improve awareness in every way possible. However, I understand everyone is different and in the cases where you just want people to leave you alone, you might try saying something like “if I eat gluten I get really sick and the details are not dinner conversation” and then smile and change the subject. Most people with any sense won’t push you after hearing that 😉

    • Joanna says:

      Thank you Tiffany i will definetely try that ;). I want people to be aware of Celiac Disease and how harmful it is if not treated properely but sometimes people just ask questions then you answer them and they won’t leave me alone which sometimes is VERY annoying ;0 if you know what i mean!? When did you get diagnosed with Celiac Disease Tiffany? if you don’t mind me asking?

      • Tiffany Janes says:

        Yes – I do know what you mean…and I too get annoyed at times 😉 I was dx’d in January 2006 so my fifth anniversary is coming soon. We’ve come a long way in that time and things keep improving for us almost on a daily basis now.

        I want to wish all our readers a very Merry Christmas (or other holidays celebrated this month)! Starting tomorrow I’ll be taking a week off so I won’t be able to reply to comments until the 30th.

  25. Joanna says:

    WOW 🙂 That is incredible! i got diagnosed This past May so i am still learning! do you know Of any G~ free foods that are Delicious that i could try? and if so where can i purchase them from?

  26. Joanna says:

    MERRY CHRISTmas and a happy new year to all! 🙂 🙂

  27. lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Hi Tiffany & Joanna,
    I hate to bring this up tat is not related anything about McD. I have been diagnosed Celiac Disease in January 2009 & still learning about this stuff. I often go back & forth w/ gluten free diet. Sometimes I get sick through 1wk, or sick on my stomach or gain weight. This year in Jan. 2010 I went back to my stomach doctor & found out this time from test show from biopsy said I don’t have Celiac Disease & its not in my blood. But when I eat anything that contains Gluten I get sick. I had test myself often to see if can or cannot eat gluten. Like this year recently, I had ate gluten & didn’t get sick until a month later I got really sick for 1week on my tummy & couldn’t eat anything even its Gluten free for 1 week & I had gain 30pds. during eating gluten. Now since that happened I got back on gluten free diet. Just this month, two weeks ago I had started losing weight because of bavk on gluten free diet. I am just confused about why did the test result show nothing about Celiac Disease this year, but had showed up last year, but not this year. Has Anyone experience this? ( Make it clear, celiac disease in Biopsy came +, except for the blood test, its came -. Now this year in biopsy & blood test showed neg.)

    • Joanna says:

      Hi Lisa,
      Do not apologize! That is what this website is for! I myself have not experinced this but know people who have! The weight loss I am not sure about at all! The gain yes because after not having something for so long you tend to binge on it! I would personally stick with a G~free diet because these tests are not always completely accurate! If it makes you feel better than definetely stick with it ok! It may be difficult the first two months or so but after that you should get used to it! They even offer G~free pizzas @ some Pizzeria’s now! Some times that just happens with tests there aren’t always accurate! So any other Questions Lisa??? 😉

    • Tiffany Janes says:

      The tests are not always done correctly OR read correctly by the lab techs that interpret them. I just discussed this last week during a phone interview with a major celiac specialist in the U.S. It’s a HUGE problem here. You likely have at least gluten sensitivity which has no cure except the gluten-free diet. It does take a while to get used to it, but you’ll get comfortable with it eventually. Best of luck to you!

    • Gail says:

      Welcome to the wonderful world of having a Wheat Allergy, which can give screw up Celiac Disease tests. Oh, and guess what, when you’re allergic to Wheat, if a product says “Gluten Free” because the way it’s cooked, the gluten is non-reactive, you’ll still get sicker than a dog off it if it’ contains even traces of wheat.

    • misty says:

      if you are off gluten for awhile it will not show up on a test…stay off the gluten anyway…you feel better right? that is all that matters

  28. Joanna says:

    I hope that helps some! you can also read Elisabeth Hasselbeck’s book! called The G~free Diet! It helped me A lot! if you have been off of Gluten it won’t show up in a blood test that is all i can currently say about that subjuct. But if You have any other questions feel free to ask me! 😉

    • Tiffany Janes says:

      Just a note about the Hasselbeck book – there is a LOT if misinformation in it. LOTS! I can’t get into specifics now, but you can probably find my review of it by doing a google search with my name and G Free Diet book review. Shelley Case also did some well written articles about the issues in the book that were not accurate.

    • Joanna says:


  29. Lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Joanna & Tiffany Jane,
    I wanted to Thank you for writing back. I didn’t know that the test not always completely accurate & not always done correctly OR read correctly by the lab techs that interpret them. Since I may have gluten sensitivity, can I still say I have Celiac disease since that had ONLY show up through Biopsy? Another question, I do cooking for my mom & my boyfriend, let you know that I’m the only one who can’t have gluten. I cook two separate things, one for regular food & other one GF food. Now when its comes to test the Noodles, is it alright to see if their noodle are done? I have read one of GF books, I can’t remember what book is it. It had said… If eat little piece of Gluten can still do much harm to digestive system. But what about eat a single noodle to see if its done?

    • Gene says:

      FYI – McDonalds website says “French Fries contain wheat”

      • Tiffany Janes says:

        Gene – for many years MD’s listed fries and hashbrowns on their gf list (which they no longer maintain in any form), but when the law changed in Jan. 2006 they listed wheat on the website as it’s used as a starter in the oil they use in their fryers. People in the gf community had a fit since the ingredients had not changed so everyone though MD’s was lying to people about the fries being gf before. The truth is that they were gf because the oil was gf before it ever got to the restaurants, due to the way it’s processed. MD’s released a statement about who tested the oil and fries/hashbrowns (and independent lab) but when talk of a class action lawsuit started, the company decided to change their stance re: the fries. One of the spokespeople for the NFCA is a celiac teen who eats the fries at MD’s as long as they are cooked in a dedicated fryer. MD’s stance is basically that if the gf community can’t understand the science behind food processing, they can do without our business. The biggest problem is that kids working at MD’s probably don’t get how important it is not to drop chicken nuggets into the dedicated fryer for fries and hashbrowns.

        • Joanna says:

          thank you sooooooooo much tiffany,
          that helped me so much it is true most teens or young aldults don’t realize hpw important it is! thank you for your help

    • Joanna says:

      Lisa, sorry so late,
      No do not eat the noodle to see if it is done ask ur boyfriend or mom to do it! because even the slightest amount of gluten will tear up ur digestive system!!!!! any other questions?

      • Laura says:

        Think of “testing” the noodles this way:
        Gluten acts like glass shards on your body. You can eat a little bit of glass or a lot of glass. Either way, your system gets torn up.

        Our household is so sensitive, we don’t eat food prepared in any kitchen unless it’s a dedicated GF kitchen. (We don’t eat out.)

    • Tiffany Janes says:

      Lisa – Joanna is corect. If you are gluten-free for health reasons, you should avoid tasting gluten noodles to see if they are cooked. Everyone is actually different and is affected by different levels of gluten. The problem is that there is no way to tell exactly how much gluten every individual can tolerate so the guidelines for everyone are the same. About 1/32 of a slice of regular bread is all it takes to affect some people so purposely eating a gluten noodle is ill advised.

      • Joanna says:

        Hey Tiffany,
        Have you ever gotten an Endoscopy before? If so did it hurt?

        • Tiffany Janes says:

          Yes – that is how I was dx’d with celiac. I was out so I don’t remember much, except that my throat was sore for about a day. No one should be getting an endoscopy looking for evidence of celiac unless they are eating a normal diet that contains gluten. Otherwise, the test results would be considered inconclusive.

  30. Lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Tiffany I agreed with you about being tired talking about msg. I rather talk about something else besides being on same msg subject. Its really about time to change the subject & learn something new that young & older people don’t know. And try at least get the latest update news.

  31. Lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Joanna & Tiffany, again thank you for responding my question. You are right about many young adult & children don’t know much about gluten free diet & how extremely important it is. So I’m glad I’m not lonely about less experience. Today, Jan. Is my second year of gluten free diet, age 25 and Im still struggling w/ this diet & less experience. Past one month, I had started getting online to learn more about this diet & how important it is. Plus try get more involve with Comments, be a more part of support group online. Its really helping me learn from older ones. Thanks to you all.

    • Tiffany Janes says:

      Lisa (and other readers on this site) – I hope you’ll check out our main website which is where we post the latest news, restaurant and product reviews and recipes. We post around 10 new posts each week on that site. You can subscribe to our posts there or sign up for our monthly newsletter. Hope to see you over there 😉

    • joanna says:

      ur welcome lisa!!! and yes it is very true!

  32. Lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Mcdonald is not the only place that are misinformation about gluten free. All we do is read what it says over their little booklet or their information on online or whatever. The best thing is to do is ask in person “does this contain gluten?” at whatever fast food or any restaurant you are going. When I had went to couple restaurant, I had asked them to bring the ingredients information label out that is on any food item. Because one time I asked if whatever is gluten free. All they say…uhh yes they are,w/o looking at labels.(I had suspense that they are lying or guessing so that’s why I asked them, bring item out so I can read label myself) How would they know for sure w/o looking at label? They may not be, because each ingredient label can now have gluten. So… We each person in each different state would need to judge them self if this is gluten free or not. Just to be CAUTION and avoid anybody that they may play mind games w/ us. A lot of people still don’t understand how important it is and still don’t understand how serious this is.

  33. Mike says:

    Shame that McDonalds in the states is so behind. In Sweden McDonald’s offer gluten free burgers (gluten free buns). Burger King does the same. And, at no extra charge.

    • Joanna says:

      America isn’t really behind it’s just that in Europe like 85% of the people have Celiac Disease! America is doing very well with coming out with gluten free foods so just be patient! i mean 20 years ago my aunt had celiac dz (she still does) but because it was a newly found disease she could only eat veggies and fruits!! so we Are Blessed we have gluten free breads, cookies, flours i mean we have it easy compared to a lot of people in the 1900s

      • Erika says:

        Joanna, you need to check your facts… In Sweden, like in the rest of Europe and the World(!), about 1.8-2.0% of the population have coeliac disease. (This percentage is a little bit higher in the Sahara desert – scientist are trying to find out why, however amongst the native population in Papua New Guinea coeliac disease does not exist – apparently they are missing a special gene you “need” to develop coeliac.)
        But i do agree with you that a lot of things has happened, I can only compare the last 7 years, since I got my diagnosis when I was 15. Here in Sweden the development has been big, but I can’t really say how things are in the US – since I’ve never been there – though friendes of mine says that it’s not easy to be a tourist and require gluten free food… However, I hope I will be pleasantly surprised when I’m in the US – I’m planning a trip this autumn, and I hope it will be great!
        My favourite countries, when it comes to gluten free travelling are: the UK, Sweden, Germany and Finland – I hope I’ll soon be able to fill the list with more gluten free friendly countries!

        • Janet Smith says:

          I think it is terrible how Mcdonalds really doesn’t have much to offer as far as gluten free..

        • Tiffany Janes says:

          All the countries you list above are MUCH more gluten-free knowledgeable and friendly than the U.S. We are way behind most European countries on this issue, I’m sorry to say.

        • Gluten Free Ree says:

          your best bet is to go to an extended stay hotel, where you will have a small kitchen, food prep and storage area in the hotel suite. You’ll get more gluten free food from the local grocery stores than to depend on restaurants. Good Luck

  34. Tiffany Janes says:

    Instead of continuing to debate something that really is not debatable (the gluten-free status of MSG), I hope everyone takes the time to read the new post re: gluten and MSG. It was researched by one of the most thorough and respected gluten-free diet dietitians in the U.S.

    • Joanna says:

      Hey everybody just a heads up do NOT eat at McDonalds!!! they say they use 100% beef but they grind the whole cow, bones and all ( not just the meat)!!! its not healthy IT’s DISGUISTING!!!!!!

  35. Lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Hey Joanna, your question is Have you ever gotten an Endoscopy before? If so did it hurt?

    That’s a very simply easy question that I have an answer for you…. Well I had one in 2009, that how I was diagnose Celiac disease by biopsy. No, it don’t hurt. You be Asleep before get an endoscopy. But once wake up from it, your throat would hurt a little bit.

  36. Lisa Poelvoorde says:

    Hi Joanna, this is a very simply easy answer for you. That you had a question about “Have you ever gotten an Endoscopy before? If so did it hurt?”

    The answer is….
    Well I had one in 2009, that how I was diagnose Celiac disease by biopsy. No, it don’t hurt. You be Asleep before get an endoscopy. But once wake up from it, your throat would hurt a little bit.

  37. Wow, this is why I warn my clients NOT to look up info on the internet other than the main reputable sites–my client found this page. There is so much misinformation in the comments I wouldn’t even know where to begin. As a registered dietitian, person with celiac disease, and NFCA GREAT food service guide, this frustrates the heck out of me. At the very least, I can use it as an example for clients on why NOT to use non-reputable web sites. It would take me too long to correct all the misinformation, and the misinformed people seem so set in their ideas that they wouldn’t believe me, anyway!

    • Tiffany Janes says:

      Shannon, I feel your pain. Please keep in mind that in our comments, readers are allowed to express their opinions. In the cases where they share misinformation, we try and correct them, but how many times can we say that MSG is gluten-free and that fries at MD’s are gluten-free even though MD’s won’t make that claim anymore (after spending a LOT of money to prove it’s true) because the company has a team of lawyers telling them that our market is not worth risking a lawsuit for?

      Check any comments on any gluten-free website and you will find zillions of misinformed comments.You could trust me on that but it will only take a few moments for you to find I’m right about it. It’s part of the reason we (the U.S. gf community) are so far behind other countries on the gluten-free/celiac issue. I love the NFCA and it was the first national program I volunteered for. One of their teen athlete ambassadors spoke about how he makes sure the McDonald’s he visits use a dedicated fryer for fries before he orders them. I use to get so upset about the misinformation out there, but now I just interview celiac specialists from around the world and share correct info with my readers and feel bad for the people that don’t take time to learn the truth about the gluten-free diet, dining out and traveling.

  38. Catherine says:

    I just contacted McDonald’s USA and they responded with the following information:

    Thank you for taking the time to contact McDonald’s.

    Currently, we are testing a simpler menu in various parts of the country. Our goal is to offer the products customers enjoy the most while keeping the menu operationally manageable so that we can offer the freshest products with speedy service to our customers.

    Ultimately, customer satisfaction is our top priority and for this reason I have shared your comments with our Operations Department. Since they are carefully reviewing customer feedback, your comments are especially important.

    Again, thanks for taking the time to contact McDonald’s.

    I think we should all email them and suggest gluten free bun addition to the menu; as it seems as if they’re in the process of taking feedback from customers with their menu simplification.

    If Sweden can do it, so can the USA! It would be great to have an option over here. Even if there was a small risk of cross-contamination. Just don’t go at a busy time and let the staff know, that’s how it’d go.

  39. Lifegoeson says:

    People I know how you feel, it is horrible being gluten free, trying to find foods edible at Restaurants and fast food places is a NIGHTMARE!

    I get people who have no idea what I am talking about when I say the phrase “Gluten Free”, it is amazing how the majority of people can eat whatever they want whenever they please. I mean I saw this builder on his lunch break the other day and he tucks into a pie that is made out of wheat as I saw him buy it from the bakery which they said they do not sell any gluten free food. It annoys me that people get off so lightly in life, don’t you agree my follow Celiac Sufferers?

    • lifegoeson says:

      I mean a pie made out of gluten the builder tucked into and also some cream doughnuts, oh how lovely he is having such a splendid time eating all that lovely yummy food on the go. If only others like us Celiacs were so lucky.

  40. Maartje says:

    In the mac, you can’t eat a normal hamburger.. I always ask for a quarterpounder (more meat than a hamburger) without the bread. They make it special for me, I never became ill after eating at the mcdonalds! so when there is a mcDonalds, I am always able to get a glutenfree meal! 😀

  41. Morgan says:

    Re: the confusion with MSG:

    MSG can either be made from sugar beets or molasses (which is made from wheat.) Certain MSG’s have been used more recently, that come from Asia and are, in fact, made from wheat. Other MSG’s are not.
    You CAN get glutened by some MSG’s.

  42. Rachel Dysart says:

    I have had horrible reactions to McDonald’s french fries in the past and later on I found out they were not gluten free. I haven’t eaten there in years and I’m so much better off. If I feel the need for a french fries fix I just order up some at 5 Guys Burgers and Fries.

  43. Jennifer Banks says:

    I was looking for Gluten Free Food and found your site! They have more Gluten Free products then I thought, Thank you for the post!

  44. Betty says:

    Are the chicken nuggests really gluten free?

  45. MP says:

    MD’s fries are NOT gluten free in the US–they are however in most other places around the world. It is because here in the US we process all our food to death and preserve it to death for the sake of “fast” food. Until people stand up and demand gluten free food, it won’t happen. The USDA claims that this is how people want to eat so they are processing food according to the majority.

  46. Adam Bryan says:

    Great information about their gluten free selections. I used to have so many issues every time I went out to eat because I always felt that I could no longer be sure what’s in my fast food meals, nor did I ever know who had gluten-free fast food. I got so fed up that I didn’t even want to go out because I was sick of the not being assure that my food was gluten-free. But thankfully after doing some research, I found this guide called the “gluten-free guide to fast food restaurants.” Its just like your post but it also lists all the gluten-free fast food available at most popular fast food chains like Chipotle Chick Fil A, Panera Bread, Boston Market, Starbucks, White Castle, Jason’s Deli, Sonic, and much more. I truly can’t go anywhere to eat without checking this guide. Its very helpful so you should check it out too.

  47. Harry says:

    I live in Finland and here McDonald’s offers gluten free buns for most Burgers in the list. Other burger restaurants do the same. My favourite is gluten free quarter pounder with cheese.

  48. Heather says:

    I think everyone is trying to “lump” all celiacs into one group. For those of us who only have a wheat allergy, all corn starch, etc is perfectly fine, we only care about the wheat. Trace amounts (form using shared fryers) also doesn’t affect me at all. For someone who is hyper-sensitive, they’d be in a world of hurt. The best advice SHOULD be “when in doubt, go without”. On the MSG note – it’s called “MSG sensitivity” – please google it & do some research – it has nothing to do at all with gluten. It IS listed as a food to avoid if you have a thyroid problem (such as I have). Weird how many people with thyroid issues do better on a wheat and/or gluten-free diet =)

  49. Cheryl says:

    Sweet and Sour Sauce DOES contain wheat!

  50. heidi says:

    omg msg gives alot of people the poops anyway its in alot of chinese fooods. if u feel like eating the crap and sitting on the toilet and drinking pepto bismol GO AHEAD quit arguing about it. i have celiacs and i just stay away from everything bad including msg and preservatives. and that = happiness for me.

  51. freeman coleman says:

    i need to know were are the gluten free restraunts are in omaha?

  52. Ann says:

    I know that fries/hashbrowns is not on your list…but the one comment about a dedicated fryer does not matter…the wheat us in the fry itself. You should not eat!

  53. mme.holt says:

    Virginia, my son is also Gluten Free – it is tough at first, but you get used to it. There are LOTS of gluten free options in the grocery stores, and a lot of restaurants are starting to carry gluten free options as well. Read all labels, try and find others who are also GF, and it will get easier. I have recently discovered Bob’s Red Mill Gluten free flour – you can use it cup for cup in any baking recipe – and it has opened up the possibilities HUGELY.
    Best of luck

  54. Karis says:

    Ok Im sorry but why go to a fast food restraunt and look for gluten free items. I’m 17 yrs old wih celiac disease and the last thing I would do is go to McDonals or any other restraunt like that. Suck it up like I do and go to an organic or natural food store. You all don’t need fast food.

    • barb says:

      i agree, stay away from fast food places, the servers look at you like what is gluten free? they aren’t educated on food allergies. that market just is not out there in america yet

  55. Erika says:

    Ok so all that is gluten free is basically the condiments but you can get those anywhere and as for the drinks, same scenario. It’s not like they offer a GF bun & pattie or GF fries to offer a complete meal, so what’s the point here? You can just as easily go into a supermarket or corner deli and purchase condiments such as ketchup, mustard, salad dressing and soft drinks.. So there is no point to giving McD’s any type of credit for being considered “GF”.

  56. Debby says:

    Anything with Caramel coloring in it is not “gluten-free” and if you have Celiac’s you will get very sick.

  57. sonya mansur says:

    I just found out that I can’t eat anything with wheat in it,I need to know where I can eat that has a gluten free menu.

  58. Marc says:

    Do you really think you can eat GF at McDonalds and be satisifed with their options ? Looking at their offer I’d rather go in a grocery store and buy some cheese, fruit and milk. The result would be the same, but at a lower cost.

  59. brenda says:

    hi i just want to ask if in lourdes we found gluten free bread in mc donalds tks

  60. Nancy reed says:

    Is the peppermint mcflurry gluten free

  61. Hexxuss says:

    Just to update the most recent thing for McDonalds – they no longer carry a list of gluten-free items, nor will they tell you what products do/don’t have it. On the Gluten vs. Glutamate debate, I found a site that can break it down for you. I think some people have their facts a little bit backwards. Gluten is NOT an ingredient in Glutamate, it’s the OTHER way around. Glutamate is an ingredient in Gluten – makes up 25% of it in gluten-grains, and 20% in casein (dairy) products. More info here: It SHOULD be noted that if you have a Glutamate allergy/sensitivity, you’re sort of screwed, since it’s in the substitutes as well such as Quinoa, Corn, etc. It is ALSO worth pointing out that these are associated with seizures. Given the large number of Autistic children who suffer from seizures as well, and seem to be “cured” when on a GFCF diet, I think this article holds the key to it ALL.

  62. paul stanizzi says:

    Mcdonalds does not have gluten free burger or roll or any kind of bread the chicken nuggets if they are gluten free the breading then must be gluten free also I doubt that

  63. Sean says:

    Wow. So I can go to McDonald’s for ice cream or condiments. Big deal. Stupid list.

  64. CD Baker says:

    I came on this website to research what I could have at a birthday party tomorrow at McDonalds. I found out only today that I have celiac disease. I expected answers but I am SHOCKED at the cruel way you respond to each other who do not agree with you. Would you talk to these people this way face to face? I thin k not! Grow up be adults who can disagree without being disagreable.

  65. Ann says:

    Hello, I just checked the McDonalds ingredient list for fries and it states that the fries contain “Natural Beef Flavor” and included in this is hydrolyzed wheat as starting ingredients which is not gluten free.

  66. Tina says:

    The Fillet of fish is cooked in a vat by it’s self that vat is not used for anything else as for the pies we bake them in my area. I know that some areas still fry them. But not where I live although I wish we did I like them better.

  67. Amy says:

    just found out I have celiac’s disease and I am curious about something my doctor gave me papers and says watch out for hidden gluten and says artificial colors (caramel) which is in pepsi, coke etc. so how are these products ok to drink in these fast food places which all are saying they are gluten free, it looks to me like they would contain gluten, like I said I am a newbie so I may be wrong

  68. Kathy McDermid says:

    How about McDonalds New Artisan Grilled Chicken. It says no artificial flavors or additives. Any chance that this new product is gluten free?

  69. Frank Pape says:

    It’s almost unbelievable that this is a celiac disease website, considering its shockingly bad information. McDonald’s french fries are made with Natural Beef Flavoring which contains wheat! It says so right on McDonald’s website (that this article links to).

  70. Sheelagh Perry says:

    So, essentially condiments. Yum.

  71. Megan says:

    I am sensitive to cross contamination gluten intolerant, my husband always tells pple I’m celiac, especially at restaurants when he stops to get good to go. He found its easier to just say that and then the employees seem to be much more careful. Anyway, I eat McDonald’s french fries and the sweet and sour sauce and I have never had a reaction to either. I also drink the chocolate shakes and recently tried a regular cheeseburger without the bun and wrapped in lettuce. It was really hard to get the employees to understand what we meant by a cheeseburge wrapped in lettuce and no bun though. Also you want to be sure you let them no it can’t be taken out of a bun and wrapped in lettuce, it needs to have not touched bread. I can imagine they take a burger out of a bun and wrap it in lettuce a lot because they are uneducated and being lazy. Like many of you said, they don’t care if we get sick. I tried a burger and shake from Red Robin because they use Udis gf buns, but I had a gluten reaction afterwards. It had to be the burger because I have had the shakes before and the fries. That was disappointing, but it proves to me that McDonald’s can be better about the GF issue than places higher up on the quality food chain. Don’t judge a book by its cover right, so your homework and try it, sometimes that’s the only way to know. It’s worth it to me to try and see because when we travel I need to know that I can eat something, and McDonald’s is everywhere! The small cheeseburgers are not very filling without a bun so I suggest order a few or a quarter pounder. Obviously don’t try it for the first time when traveling, but yall know that.

  72. Glutenfreemom says:

    This info is outdated. I was just on McDonald’s allergy website yesterday and it states that even their grilled chicken has wheat in it. Their french fries have an added beef flavoring that has wheat also. My 4 year old will be going somewhere else. She has Celiac’s and I just can’t trust a place where i CAN’T EVEN GIVE HER THE GRILLED CHICKEN!

  73. Virginia says:

    My 4 yr old daughter was just diagnosed with celiac along with being allergic to peanuts and eggs. This diet has me so confused. I feel like her choices in life have been taken from her. How do you manage with your child and is there any sibling involved? I have two other childeren who seem ok with gluten and I was told they should not be on same diet just in case they need to be tested for it.

  74. Tiffany Janes says:

    Virginia – look for a support group in your area. That is the best way to learn about the diet. Most celiac experts agree that first degree relatives (that would be your other two children) should be tested ever few years whether they have any symptoms or not. Many people (including children) have what they call silent symptoms, Damage is being done internally, but there are no outward symptoms. Ir’s rare to find only one person in the family with the condition since it is the number one genetic condition on the world. Best of luck to you 😉


  1. Going Gluten and Dairy Free | Acupuncture and Herbs says:

    […] lists of hidden gluten flavorings.  For fast food don’t get pizza: you can get a salad at McDonalds (grilled chicken, not breaded and fried), with balsamic dressing and throw away the croutons.  If […]

  2. Restaurant Chain Gluten Free Face Off | Which chains are more gluten friendly | GlutenFreeAZ says:

    […] the McDonald’s website, which was pretty disappointing. However, based on an older post at there are some pretty obvious gluten free basics you can eat in a pinch such as a bunless burger, […]

  3. […] (no bun of course), and some of the sides are gluten free.  Here’s the link for the list  It’s been tough because some of the locations around the Newark area do not do well with […]

Leave a Reply

How do I change my avatar?

Go to and upload your preferred Gravatar.

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>