Typically when it comes to restaurants that serve sub sandwiches, it is usually best to stay away from these types of stores altogether as cross-contamination is such a huge concern. However, after reading a few different testimonials on message boards from people who have successfully eaten a gluten-free meal at a Jimmy John’s restaurant, I decided to look a little more into when foods they offer that are gluten-free.
Official Website Menu Information: Jimmy John’s Gluten-Free Menu
Location Finder: Find a Jimmy Johns Location Near You
A quick browse of their official website does not show any gluten-free menu, so I decided to contact them. Here is the list they sent me:
Jimmy John’s Gluten-Free Menu
Confirmed Gluten-Free Foods:
Bacon
- Beef
- Ham
- Capicola
- Salami
- Turkey
Interestingly enough, they also went out of their way to point out that their cheese is NOT gluten-free (this is one of the few products Celiacs can usually rely on to be gluten-free at restaurants).
As always, when dining out gluten-free, do your due diligence and make sure the staff understands your needs. There are very few restaurants that are 100% gluten-free, so cross-contamination is always a risk. If you don’t feel comfortable with what you are hearing from the staff, perhaps it is best to dine elsewhere.
For information about other gluten-free restaurants menus, check out our gluten-free restaurants page.
Their lettuce wraps are wonderful! But, YES, definitely ask them to change their gloves….an oversight my first visit and I certianly paid for it.
I was getting excited as I read this…. BUT, NO CHEESE!!! I can’t go somewhere and get lettuce wraps with no cheese! Bummer
Cheese is definitely at the top of my list of favorite foods, so I was surprised and disappointed to find this out as well.
Uh, I work at Jimmy John’s and eat unwiches all the time. The beef is NOT gluten free it says it has wheat in it on the box. The turkey, bacon, vito meat, and ham never give me problems but be careful because there is bread every where. Make sure that if you want mayo to get packets.
I have been eating the tuna unwiches as my jimmy johns here told me the tuna and mayo GF. Is the tuna gluten free?
Although it is wonderfully delicious, It is not gluten free as it contains soy sauce which contains gluten.
Always check the JJ website for most current information. Apparently there is no comprehensive and effective staff training program as of yet. Here is the response I received this week from corporate JJ. Please note the Beef is NOT GF, as stated in the article. The article may have been correct when written.
Gluten Free Statement:
Bacon – It is gluten free.
Beef – It is not gluten free.
Ham – It is gluten free.
Capicola – It is gluten free.
Salami – It is gluten free.
Turkey – It is gluten free.
French bread – It is not gluten free.
Wheat bread – It is not gluten free.
Cheese – It is not gluten free.
Mayo – It is gluten free.
Cookies – They are not gluten free.
I also asked about other allergens and received the following.
Dairy Free Statement:
Our avocado is dairy free.
Our bread is dairy free.
Our cheese is not dairy free.
Our chips are dairy free, except the S & V.
S & V chips are not dairy free.
Our cookies are not dairy free.
Our bacon is dairy free.
Our beef is dairy free.
Our Capicola is dairy free.
Our ham is dairy free.
Our salami is dairy free.
Our turkey is dairy free.
Our tuna is dairy free
Soy Free Statement:
French bread – It is soy free.
Wheat bread – It is not soy free.
Bacon – It is soy free.
Beef – It is not soy free.
Ham – It is soy free.
Capicola – It is soy free.
Salami – It is soy free.
Turkey – It is soy free.
Tuna – It is not soy free.
Cheese – It is soy free.
Mayo – It is not soy free.
Egg Free Statement:
Bread – There are no eggs.
Mayo – There are eggs in the mayo.
Meats – There are no eggs.
Cheese – There are no eggs.
Cookies – There are eggs in our cookies.
I hope this is helpful to others in the same boat as one of my family members! (GF, SF, DF, EF)
THANK YOU!!!! I don’t understand why the info isn’t readily available on their website. ESP for top 8 allergens. Why do we have to email you directly to find out what allergens are in your sandwiches?! Be proactive Jimmy John’s! (EF DF)
Just to let everyone know Butterfinger candy is gluten free, but is not manufactured in a gluten free environment. Read their in there ingredients on the side of their wrapper. It was a real dissapointment.
Unless the soy sauce in the Mayo is gluten free, then the mayo is not gluten free.
Amy,
Mayo doesn’t typically contain soy sauce, so the mayo should be gluten-free.
Kim
Restaurant Mayo is typically may with Soy oil.
Jimmy John’s mayo isn’t “restaurant mayo”, not sure I even know what you mean by that. It comes in a Hellman’s Mayonnaise container that is displayed in the store for you to see. I don’t know if Hellman’s is made with soy oil but that is what they use.
Soy oil is gluten free. Soy sauce is not. Wheat is added to soy sauce for flavoring and color.
What about the pickles?
Helmanns mayonnaise says gluten free .. man checked it for me since packages to go doesn’t say gluten free even being the same brand.
Lisa, the pickles are GF. I eat them all the time. I am celiac, very sensitive. However, DO NOT eat the TUNA. It contains soy sauce and I did not know this until after I ate it.
Me too!! Bad mistake!! Untrained employee!! Yikes!!
I have celiac and have never had an issue with their cheese….I am usually pretty sensitive too..
I have cd and I get sick every time I eat an unwhich. Everyday the employees touch bread and then stick their hands in the bins to grab lettuce, tomatoes and onions, which then cross contaminates them. Changing the gloves won’t help if the veggies are contaminated.
Helmanns mayonnaise says gluten free .. man checked it for me since packages to go doesn’t say gluten free even being the same brand.
It can be a cross-contamination thing. The same utensil is used to spread mayonnaise on bread and the lettuce wraps so it could be a concern.
The reason you want mayo in packets is because they slather a spatula onto bread and stick it back in the jar. It’s a cross contamination concern.