Is glucose syrup considered to be gluten free? If you aren’t familiar with it, glucose syrup is a liquid sweetener found in many candies and other desserts that contains wheat starch. Obviously anything with “wheat” in the name throws up some red flags to anyone following a gluten free diet, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it contains wheat.
As a result, over the past year or so there has been some debate over whether glucose syrup is considered to be gluten free or not, so Sure Foods Living recently spoke with a dietitian to find out some additional information. In their post they shared their findings, and I thought our readers would probably find this information useful, so I am providing a small excerpt:
Glucose syrup can be derived from a variety of starches including wheat. Corn is the most common however Europe uses wheat more frequently. The glucose syrups are highly processed and purified and R5 elisa tests have found the majority to contain very little residual gluten if any. The European Food Safety put out a report on the safety of glucose syrups. Here is the link for more info:
Based on the FDA proposed gluten-free labeling regulation a product can be derived from a gluten-containing grain such as wheat based glucose syrup and be labeled gluten-free yet the ingredients could say glucose syrup (wheat) provided it is under 20 parts per million (ppm). This will be very confusing for patients as we teach them to avoid wheat and yet a product like glucose syrup may have no or very little residual gluten and be labeled gluten free.”
Click over to read the entire post!