Gluten-Free Tips for the Newly Gluten-Free
Subscribe Form

Get Notified When We Update!

Jun 28 2013

Gluten-Free Tips for the Newly Gluten-Free

I like to do a post for the newly gluten-free every once in a while as more and more people are following a gluten-free diet.  Some of those people may have just been diagnosed with Celiac Disease, while others may be searching for an answer to their maladies.  The first, and most important, piece of advice I can give the newly gluten-free is this…breathe.  Don’t worry if you make a mistake.  Live, learn and make progress.

  1. Get a new toaster. Putting gluten-free toast in a toaster that has had gluten-filled bread in it is going to render your gluten-free bread contaminated.  Toasters are roughly $15 at Walmart, so well worth the money it will cost you.  If you have others in the house still eating gluten, label your toaster with a piece or tape, or do as I did and just write on the outside of it with a Sharpie.
  2. Stay clear of soy sauce unless you are sure it is gluten-free.  There are several gluten-free brands on the market (La Choy, San-J and Kikkoman now makes a GF version).  Additionally, some sauces & marinades may contain soy sauce, so don’t be so sure the grilled chicken you are ordering at a restaurant is gluten-free unless you have double checked.
  3. Along the lines of the toaster, get new condiments and label them “gluten-free” if you are sharing them with others.  “Double dipping” utensils will quickly contaminate your condiments and could leave gluten crumbs behind.
  4. Beware of the ingredient “natural flavorings”, which may contain barley malt (malt flavoring).  While wheat does have to be called out on the label, barley does not under the current law.  Natural flavorings can be found in many processed foods and drinks on the market.  Some of the products that we have been the victims of include pancake syrup (100% maple syrup is the best and gluten-free, as is Aunt Jemima).  There are many companies that will clearly label gluten on the label and I tend to be loyal to those companies.
  5. Check your medication for gluten.  There is an excellent site that is maintained by a local clinical pharmacist called Gluten-Free Drugs.  If you are unable to verify your medication, call the manufacturer or your pharmacist and ask.
  6. In reference to #4, don’t assume you are free & clear on drinks.  Unless you are drinking unflavored water, milk, 100% juice, unflavored tea (and even some of these may contain barley, so check), or unflavored coffee you need to verify that what you are drinking is gluten-free.
  7. Cross contamination is a real concern when dining out (or even in your own home!).  Picking the croutons off of your salad is not sufficient.  Make sure to speak with the manager or chef on duty to ask about their methods for preventing the cross contamination of your food.  Unless you have worked in a restaurant, you may not be aware of some of the methods used to prepare food.  If you have, you know what I am talking about.  Veggies can be steamed in pasta water; ingredients that contain gluten may be kept right next to gluten-free ingredients on the line; eggs used for omelets may be thickened with pancake batter to make them fluffier; the same utensils may be used to plate your gluten-free food that just plated that burger or chicken fingers; your “gluten-free” fries or tortilla chips may be fried in a fryer with chicken fingers or onion rings.
  8. Check your make-up.  If it goes on your face, it has a potential to be in your mouth.  I know that most people don’t willingly eat their mascara, but better to be safe than sorry, right?
  9. Shampoo, hairspray, lotions, etc should also be checked.  While it is true that gluten does not get absorbed through the skin, some people who suffer from dermatitis herpetiformis need to avoid skin contact with gluten as well as consuming gluten.  Additionally, if you get hairspray in your mouth, or you don’t wash the lotion off of your hands, use an antibacterial gel with gluten (ahem…thanks a lot Bath & Body Works), it is best to just make sure they are gluten-free.
  10. If you drink alcoholic beverages, check your alcohol.  Malt beverages are not gluten-free.  This means most wine coolers these days and most beers (though there are plenty of gluten-free beer options) are not gluten-free.  Triumph Dining has a nice list of gluten-free alcohol here.  Easy choices are wine, Woodchuck or Crispin hard ciders.
  11. Always, always read the label!  Even now, 7+ years into this, I read the label.  Companies are notorious for changing suppliers and therefore that once gluten-free product may no longer be gluten-free.
  12. Yogurt is not always gluten-free.  Plain yogurt is, yes, but not always the flavored yogurt. Dannon is one of those who will only say their plain yogurt is gluten-free.

No one gets this perfect straight out of the gate.  If you do make mistakes (and I still do on occasion), dust yourself off and get back up.  Please feel free to ask questions below – I am happy to help and if I can’t give you the answer right away, I will do my best to find out for you.

Do you have any tips you can share with the newly gluten-free?

Article Written by:

Kimberly Bouldin is a gluten-free wife, runner & blogger with two children in Columbus, Ohio. After her celiac diagnosis in 2006, she has made it her mission to embrace an entirely new approach to nutrition in a gluten-free world, exploring options that run the gamut from "made from scratch" homemade bread to sampling and reviewing the gluten-free prepared foods that are continuously being introduced to the market. While navigating the waters of becoming gluten-free, Kim shares her experiences and passes along valuable product reviews in addition to helping other moms of celiac kids develop healthy menus that are kid-friendly and palatable. Kimberly is a valuable resource for those who are newly diagnosed, as well as for the more seasoned gluten-free veterans. Follow Kim on Twitter!

Related Posts

  • newyorkyankz

    Kim – did you have an issue w/ powerade? According to coke, they are all gluten free.

    Coca-Cola: Hi, I’m your virtual agent. What can I do for you?

    You: is powerade gluten free?

    Coca-Cola: We are able to confirm that, in the U.S., the following products are gluten free:

    Coca-Cola

    Caffeine-Free Coca-Cola

    Diet Coke

    Caffeine-Free Diet Coke

    Coca-Cola Zero

    Sprite

    DASANI

    POWERADE and POWERADE Zero with ION4 (all flavors)Click here for more gluten-free products.

    • kbouldinrun

      My son has had a problem with Powerade, though it has been a little over a year. He has very distinct “Celiac” symptoms when he gets glutened. I appreciate the information – Lord knows it would be nice for them to be GF, as often times Powerade is on sale and Gatorade is not.

      Edited to add that I just edited that part out of the post above.

      Kim

  • newyorkyankz

    Kim – did you have an issue w/ powerade? According to coke, they are all gluten free.

    Coca-Cola: Hi, I’m your virtual agent. What can I do for you?

    You: is powerade gluten free?

    Coca-Cola: We are able to confirm that, in the U.S., the following products are gluten free:

    Coca-Cola

    Caffeine-Free Coca-Cola

    Diet Coke

    Caffeine-Free Diet Coke

    Coca-Cola Zero

    Sprite

    DASANI

    POWERADE and POWERADE Zero with ION4 (all flavors)Click here for more gluten-free products.

    • kbouldinrun

      My son has had a problem with Powerade, though it has been a little over a year. He has very distinct “Celiac” symptoms when he gets glutened. I appreciate the information – Lord knows it would be nice for them to be GF, as often times Powerade is on sale and Gatorade is not.

      Edited to add that I just edited that part out of the post above.

      Kim

  • newyorkyankz

    I did some google searches, a few others have complained about powerade (though they were old posts) so you may still want to stay away to be safe..

  • newyorkyankz

    I did some google searches, a few others have complained about powerade (though they were old posts) so you may still want to stay away to be safe..

  • Dianne Rasine Wilke

    The website Vitacost.com has great deals on GF mixes. I used to hate the GF breads available, but Bob’s Red Mill GF Potato Bread Mix is awesome. Soft, and white, just like regular bread. I make a loaf a week. Watch for their sales! Oh and their pizza crust mix is the best GF crust I have ever had. Read, order, mix & enjoy!

  • Dianne Rasine Wilke

    The website Vitacost.com has great deals on GF mixes. I used to hate the GF breads available, but Bob’s Red Mill GF Potato Bread Mix is awesome. Soft, and white, just like regular bread. I make a loaf a week. Watch for their sales! Oh and their pizza crust mix is the best GF crust I have ever had. Read, order, mix & enjoy!