Sonic Drive-In is a growing restaurant chain found all throughout the United States so it only makes sense that we’ve been getting a lot of inquiries lately regarding whether or not they offer a gluten-free menu. Based upon my initial research online, it looks like Sonic does not offer any gluten-free diet information in print or on their official website, but they do have an official allergen listing.
Location Finder: Find a Sonic Location Near You
With that said, we like to be a little more thorough than that and were able to get a company representative at Sonic to give the following list of gluten-free items (they said they are only able to provide a list verbally at this time, nothing is available in writing):
Sonic Gluten-Free Menu
Bacon
- Breakfast sausage patty
- Egg patty (may be contaminated from cooking on the same griddle as gluten-filled foods)
- Hamburger (no bun)
- Hot Dog (no bun)
- Sliced American cheese
- Shredded cheddar cheese
- Pepperjack cheese
- Ketchup
- Mustard
- Marinara sauce
- Salad dressings (all varieties)
- Shake mix (shakes may be made in the same container as malts. Ask the staff to clean the container to prevent cross-contamination)
- Softserve ice cream
- Hershey’s chocolate syrup
- Butterfinger, M&M, Reese’s Pieces, and whipped toppings
- Route 44 drinks (all flavors)
- Slushes, all flavors in the usual menu
Note: The representative also advised that Sonic’s Tater Tots and French fries are in fact gluten-free; however, there may be cross-contamination issues from being fried with gluten-containing menu items. If you decide to try either of these items please confirm with your local Sonic location that they use a dedicated fryer to avoid a problem.
As always, when dining out gluten-free, do your due diligence and make sure the staff understands your needs. There are very few restaurants that are 100% gluten-free, so cross-contamination is always a risk. If you don’t feel comfortable with what you are hearing from the staff, perhaps it is best to dine elsewhere.
For information about other gluten-free restaurants menus, check out our gluten-free restaurants page.
Need to educate your staff and customers do more of us can eat at your place of business your food is good would be nice to k ow if red chili,green chili, and corn dogs are gluten free
The corn dogs contain wheat and are NOT gluten free at Sonic. Please see here:
https://offers.sonicdrivein.com/nutrition/allergens.pdf
M&Ms are not gluten free
Many flavors of M&Ms are gluten free
Plain and Peanut M&Ma’s are indeed glutenfree.
yes they are! According to M&M